Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have been making Russian tea cakes since I first had to do a report of Russia in middle school. The recipe I used then was from some big-name chef and didn't turn out well. After much tweaking, this is pretty much the exact recipe I ended up with. Nearly 10 year later and now a culinary student, I have brought this recipe to my school's kitchen with outstanding results! I sometimes will add a pinch of salt if you're not using salted butter to give it just a slight bite before you get to the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri_Whitepaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
On its own, these cookies were a hit, do half nuts and half mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, and they become a legend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiger cub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
The Russian Tea Cakes were not at all what I expected them to be. The video is what caught my eye and because I was trying to find a simple xmas cookie recipe for my church "AROUND THE WORLD CRHRISTMAS DINNER". We have this every year. Each member is to prepare a dish or dessert that is representing another Country and set up a table with information about the dish or dessert. Didn't think it was going to take the time it did and wasnt as easy as the video. Dissapointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roberta walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I used pecans for the walnuts as I am not a fan of walnuts, used my #50 scoop which yielded 35 cookies that baked in 12 minutes rotating trays halfway through. I like to toss a few times in the icing sugar and leave a corner of the lid up so they don't get moist. I also chilled my dough for a few hours so it wouldn't spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this recipe as listed, the only change I made was I used pecans. My dough turned out very wet not sure why. The cookies crumble if you apply any pressure. Don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is the exact recipe I have been making for the last 30 years!! My Grandmother was Hungarian and passed this one to me! These are by far my favourite cookie to make each Christmas Season. I usually make a double batch, but somehow, I am always short by Christmas. This year I am going to make 3 batches!! And I always double roll them in the powdered sugar! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Oh so good! Love them! They were AMAZING!!! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by silveto
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Delicious. My family and friend favorite. I am from Bulgaria, and we make the same cookies only instead of butter we use LARD and we put pieces TURKISH DELIGHT cut on small cubes ~ 6mmx6mm in the middle of each cookie. On top you may garnish with whole Almond or WALNUT either laying flat or standing upright. This recipe I followed exact only substituting the same amount of butter for LARD. I had to add 4 tbsp more flour and left it in the fridge for an hour to chill. I also had to bake them 2 more min. After they are baked and cooled for 2 min I arrange them in plate and I prefer to dust them with confectioners' sugar and stainer instead of dipping them in confectioners' sugar one by one. They look better this way and get less sugar. I used my processor to make the dough. I also have Cuisinart standing mixer that I used in the past, but the processor works better for this type of dough. TIPS:If you find the dough is too soft and sticky and difficult to work with : 1.add one by one tbsp Flour(no more than 4-5 for the recipe), 2. Then leave it in the fridge to chill for an hour or two. 3.Wet little bit your hands when making the balls, it will help the dough do not stick on your palms.4. If you decide to use Turkish Delight inside first make the ball, make a hole with you thumb and place the Turkish delight piece in the hole, then just roll the ball few time between your palms which will close the hole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
These are great!! I made them with my sisters and the family loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
These are very easy and quick to make. Definitely a keeper. After it baked, I rolled them around the sugar place them on the baking sheet, waited about 10-15 minutes and then rolled them in the sugar again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States