Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Loved this! I also added almonds instead of walnuts with a teaspoon of almond extract to make it a bit sweeter. Its perfect both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I just made this according to the recipe. I knocked on a neighbor's to offer some. Before I could say anything, he asked where I got them. Turns out he had lived two years in Russia. He ate 3 right then and there. He told me they are exactly like what he had in Russia, except he said they use less sugar. He was still grinning when I left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Awesome cookies! Very easy to make and just delicious. I used real butter and exact measurements and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
First time I have ever made these and this recipe came out great. They were just the perfect texture that I remember when my grandmother used to make these. I do not at all understand those whose came out crumbly or flat. I did this recipe 100% by the ingredients and instructions and they came out perfect. Once my dough is mixed I do mold it and pat it into a nice ball first to eliminate working with the crumbly dough. Then I just rip off an amount that is right and roll in my hands. The reviewer who stated butter has to be super soft, is also spot on. The butter has to be very very soft but not melted for the dough to have a less crumbly texture. All I can say is give this a try, these were great! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
The best cookie!!!!! Very easy to make,... Grew up on these cookies.. my Irish mom made every Christmas, but never put nuts in them. The first time I made them my father in law stopped by and ate every single cookie, that's how good they are..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
just got done making these. They are so good!!!! I followed another reviewers advise and added 1 tbsp of milk..I also ground the walnuts. I rolled twice in confectioners sugar, these will be on my cookie tray every year.. Love them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Simple, classic cookie. Since I live at altitude (4500 ft.) I add 1/2-1 T cream to hold the dough together. Easy to make and everybody has a story to tell about their family's version. Great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
My Grandmother used to make these as gifts ... She would NEVER part with the recipe. Especially to me her oldest grandSON. Since her death other family members have tried, but they were never quite right. After finding THIS recipe I have it licked! This Christmas there will be the Family's MUCH missed Cookies for all ... I have just finished 900 of them and want to thank the poster. Happy Holiday's and THANK YOU for making ours complete again. I did not change the recipe at all! Followed it to a Tea! >Pun Intended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
It was delicious, but I used almonds instead of walnuts one time, and no nuts another time, and everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These are always my Christmas favorites, but I always use ground pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 838) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States