Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
These are great!! I made them with my sisters and the family loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
These are very easy and quick to make. Definitely a keeper. After it baked, I rolled them around the sugar place them on the baking sheet, waited about 10-15 minutes and then rolled them in the sugar again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Scrump-dilly-icious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
What a wonderful recipe! Thank you for posting it. I needed a dessert with a Russian theme for an office party. I found this one and gave it a try. My first round produced 20 tea cakes, using a cookie scoop for collecting each piece of dough. The staff loved them! So, today, a snow day off from work, I made another batch - same scoop, but this time the recipe produced 28 balls. I guess I didn't stuff the scoop as much. With both recipes I used King Arthur all-purpose flour. I also added a slight 0.5 tsp of bottled butter flavoring in addition to the 1 tsp. vanilla flavoring. I don't know what the results would be without the butter flavoring, but I was just compelled to add it! The baked cakes were perfectly tender. This recipe is a keeper. Oh, each batch took me less than an hour to make, but I did the cooling outside on the deck in 20 degree temps. Might take longer inside. On a scale of 1 to 10 for ease of preparation, I rate this recipe a 7. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Exactly like they are supposed to be. Made them for husbands customers. They loved them. And yes they are difficult to form into balls. I think this is normal. Like someone else said press hard! also not too sweet but I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This recipe was pretty good with a few changes. First, I added 2/3 cup of butter instead of 1 cup, in order to cut down on the fat content. I also added about 1/4 tsp salt. Because the dough was too dry upon mixing, I added about 2 teaspoons of milk. The cookies maintained their shape while baking. They were crispy on the outside and slightly tender (but still firm) on the inside. This recipe only yielded 21 tea cakes, instead of 36.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I just made a batch of these and they turned out great! The consistency was perfect, not crumbly at all. They were a little salty, so next time I think I'll add a couple more tablespoons of sugar, but the finished product was great and I'm sure they'll be gone soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Everyone loved these tasty cakes. I made them quite small, so they could just be popped into the mouth. The second time I made them I put the walnuts into a processor until they were finely chopped up. It did make a difference, the dough became more moist, everything stuck together and was easier to roll the dough into balls. They make delicious and attractive gifts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used slivered almonds instead. We devoured these. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for! I made my dough and then chilled it overnight. The next day, I let it warm up some, cut it into portioned squares, rolled them into balls, re-chilled them for 15 minutes and then baked them. I rolled them in sugar when warm. I carefully used a fork to avoid breaking them. They took a lot more sugar than stated. Definitely a keeper! Oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 838) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States