Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These were great! I made them exactly as the recipe stated and they turned out yummy. I made holiday cookie bags and these were apart of it. Everyone asked what "the little white balls" were because they tasted so good. I would definately make these again. Very easy and very tasty, Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I used skinned chopped raw almonds instead of walnuts (as that is what I had on hand) which was a fine replacement. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Walkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This recipe is a classic cookie for the holidays. We made them as written, with the exception of baking for 15 minutes at 300 degrees, as someone else had mentioned. They're delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I was looking for this recipe for past year, all others were either chewy or just plain hard. Definitely should say finely ground nuts, as mine turned out perfect I shook them 3 at a time in paper bag of conf. sugar. saves a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Don't overwork your dough or your cookies will be tough. That goes for most cookie doughs. Mix to incorporate, don't overmix if you can help it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I have been making these cookies for Christmas and anytime I wanted a really good cookie for the last 50 years. They have been my favorite since I first made them. I use finely chopped black walnuts and it gives them a really good taste. My family and I are addicted to them. Everyone that tastes them want the recipe. Best cookie recipe ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Delicious! But just a few hints: whatever nut you use (I prefer walnuts, just love them in this cookie!) grind as finely as you can. That will help make a nicer, round cookie that is much less likely to crumble a bit on you as you roll it. If you do find that your dough is difficult to roll, just add a bit of milk (up to a tablespoon). That should do the trick for you. Also, I think these scream for almond extract. I always use this flavor and perhaps you would like to give it a try also. And last, I think baking at 350 degrees is a bit hot for this delicate cookie. I bake mine at 325 F. Oh, and one last thing . . . when you roll these in the powdered sugar, make sure the cookie is still warm but not hot. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
To those who said these cookies were crumbly and fell apart. The nuts were not chopped finely enough. The recipe should have said "finely chopped". These are delicious cookies, and the feature photo is exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I've used this recipe for the past three or four years for Christmas gifts. My mom made these as I was growing up and this is exactly what I was looking for. I love these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I just made 12 of these in preparation for Christmas and this is by far the most delicious pastry I have ever made. And soooo easy. Just followed the instructions and used powder walnuts. Will definitely make tons of these for christmas. Enormours thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States