Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were one of the best russian tea cake recipes I've tried. In the past the recipes I've tried have tended to be dry but this recipe was nice and moist...almost melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This recipe is just like my Granma Mary used to make. I made several batches this year and prefer the larger chunks of pecans. I also made a couple of batches using the toffee dust after my boyfriend chopped up his his homemade toffee. But the pecans are the best IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Oh my, these are so good! I made one batch to share with those I work with and quickly regretted not doubling it to have more to "sample." : ) I also recommend rolling them in powdered sugar while they are very warm, and again a few minutes later. I received rave reviews at work, perfect recipe, thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Have eaten these before and wanted to make them. Read the reviews--and it seemed to be a hit. First time to make them. Nice easy recipe. It lives up the reviews. These were better than I had eaten before! Will make again! I think we have a new tradition in our family! To make these cookies! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
So glad I found this recipe! It makes me think of my mom when I make them. :) I use a mix of English & black walnuts (mom just used black) and roll them in confectioners sugar twice; once while still warm and one more time once they've cooled. I also chop the nuts very small in my Ninja; almost a meal with just a few larger pieces , so the dough is more crumbly but holds together when you roll into a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Just like I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna the Squirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
UPDATE: My German MIL couldn't stop eating these! She loved them. She said that they taste like the German vanillekipferl (vanilla cresents). The flavor improves after a few days and they melt in your mouth much nicer as well. These are so delicious with a cup of freshly brewed coffee. You always want to have another one. :-) PREVIOUS REVIEW: I made these today and they turned out wonderful! They truely do melt in your mouth and they're not too sweet. The only thing I changed is that I used vanilla sugar instead of the extract and I used unsalted butter instead of regular. To make rolling a bit easier, I filled a plastic sandwich bag with icing sugar and shook the bag till the cookies were fully coated (kind of like the old Shake & Bake). I will be making these often. Thanks for passing your along family's recipe Theaunt708!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe needs a bit of salt, and maybe a little more sugar. Very easy to make. Does not yield a large amount; recommend doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
My new Christmas cookie! Yummy and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I don't know how I'm gonna keep myself from eating all of these before Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHTHONIC1239

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States