Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Very good! I've always wanted to make these cookies and this is my first try and they came out great! The cooking time is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waldron9977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
If you like these you will love these cookies; very easy to make. I doubled my batch to have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Very nice. One of the best Russian tea cookies I have eaten. I did take the advice of the reviewer who suggested that the butter be warmer than room temp. I softened my room temp bars in the microwave for 20 sec at 50%. Did just fine. I also used disposable food prep gloves to kneed the dough before making the balls. Worked great. Next time I might use a pinch less flour to see if it makes a difference, as it was a bit dry in the middle bite. However, overall, I am delighted to have made these myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My Bulgarian husband made these today. They are delicious - buttery, crumbly, and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I don't know what went wrong, but this did not turn out. The cookies were grainy like sand. After reading the reviews I thought they were going to be delicious, but I was sadly surprised. I'm not sure if I just did something wrong or what, but I won't even be attempting this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is my favorite Christmas cookie of all time. The only changes I made were to use toasted Almonds instead of walnuts because I live overseas and can't get walnuts. Then I used almond extract instead of vanilla. I think these changes give a great recipe just a little something extra special and it always gets raves and requests for the recipe. "There's just something different" they all say as they reach for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Amiot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Growing up, my mother use to make this cookie every christmas. In stead of using walnuts or pecans, she always used cashews and everyone loved them. Now that I am in charge of the christmas cookies, I make them the same way. The rich, butteriness of the cashew goes great with the sweetness of the cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. Since I'm not a huge fan of walnuts I substitute with chopped macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very yummy. However, I needed to bake mine more than 15 mins and needed lot more powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Gotta admit that I personally was only okay with this recipe, but I will say they were GORGEOUS, and a huge hit with the coworkers. Disappeared very quickly. So I may just be the exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 861) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States