Russian Tea Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Wouldn't change a thing...on purpose, that is. Adding more nuts on accident? Oops!! Still delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Robinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Just like my mom made! 325 worked well, with air bake cookie sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These little balls of heaven melt in your mouth like buttah. I, like other reviewers think 350° was too hot and made the cookies too tough. I baked mine for 7 minutes at 325° then turned my cookie sheet around and baked for another 7 minutes. They were perfect. I also tried some of the other reviewers tips... 1. I used 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract along with the teaspoon of vanilla. 2. I used about 1 teaspoon of lemon zest. It was good but I thought it changed the flavor of what a Russian Tea Cake is supposed to taste like 3. I used 1 tablespoon of half & half but I think it made my dough too moist and made my cookies spread a bit. Other than the oven temperature, I think if you want to taste a true Russian Tea Cake don't change ANY of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREEPANTHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Labno
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These Russian Tea cakes are delicious!!! I made them for xmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Perfect recipe! I made these for Christmas party and I can't wait to serve them with after dinner tea and coffee on Christmas Eve. This is a very simple recipe- great for rookie bakers like myself. My friend showed me a great tip for shaping the balls. Really squeeze the dough in your hand- this warms the butter and allows you to make a nice shaped ball which holds up to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Love this cookie. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out beautifully. They were so good that they didn't last long. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I can easily see these cookies becoming a Christmas tradition in my family. Really excellent. Like other reviewers have suggested, I added two tablespoons of milk (my dough refused to come together, though I'm sure if my butter were a bit warmer it would have been okay.) Also, I ground the walnuts finely in a food processor, and shook the cookies/powdered sugar in a plastic bag while still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
These were really easy to make. They tasted great but are too crumbly. After I baked them when you try and eat them or roll them in the sugar they just fall apart. I did what some reviewers suggested and made sure to crush the nuts very fine. the cookies still did not stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
These were amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
These are the choice of the parties, best double the recipe, they go fast. I have made these balls for 30 years now. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States