Russian Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
The only thing this potato salad recipe lacked in getting 5 stars from me was the canned peas. SO much tastier with a handful of fresh or frozen pettit-pois. Excellent recipe otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
wow this tasted great! a fantastic break from regular potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I don't get all the rave reviews. I made it just as written with no modifications. Maybe it will be better after it sits in the refrigerator overnight although that is not indicated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is the same as "Olivia" Salad for those of you russofiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc Minish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Excellent! I am Russian and this salad brings me back to my roots! I wanted it vegetarian so I skipped the hot dogs and didn't substitute. I also omitted two egg yolks. Left everything else the same and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDgirl
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I lived in Russia and this olivye is one of my favorites. I would definitely add dill (fresh - and me personally, I add lots), but one hing you should use half sour cream and half mayonaisse to get a more real Russian tasting salad... The mayo in Russia tastes nothing like the mayo in the US, and the sour cream makes it. Also if u have a Russian/Ukrainian store nearby, get some kvas and pour over the salad to make a summer soup. It's yummy! (Altho again, the kvas in Russia isnt exactly the same as here - I prefer the kvas in Russia) U could make your own too tho...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I'm Russian and my mom's version of this recipe is a little different. To the same qty of eggs/potatoes, she uses only 1/2 lb bologne for everyday OR chicken for holidays. She uses 4 pickles and 1 fresh cucumber. She doesn't use onions. She recommends using mayo to taste and dill if you want to. As for technique... my mom's advice to me was to peel the potatoes before coking them. That way... you don't burn your fingers trying to peel them (or waste time waiting for them to cool). Enjoy! My b/f and his family (who aren't Russian) LOVE this recipe... they all asked for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
TR21 Said they put in apples in the potato salda and that sounded interesting,as I have a few hundred potato recipes this will be a welcomed addition to what I have
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
this is actually called olivye and i used bologna instead of hotdogs but its amazingly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ju-ju

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I am Bulgarian and this Russian salad is a favourite dish for parties and holidays in my coutry. We usually add pickled carrots and if you use ham, it will be even more delicious. Once you try it, you can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States