Russian Pancakes - Blini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Well, once I added lots more flour and cut down on the milk, it took me another forty-five minutes to make. They did taste delicious, however :) I topped them with whipped cream and strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
If there's two things I can't stand it's pompous foodies who say that a dish can only be made one way and with certain ingredients, and people who drastically change a recipe and then say it didn't turn out well. Unfortunately there's a ton of those kinds of reviews on this site and it's a shame that anyone would be turned off by great recipes reviewed in such ways. That said, this batter should be thin. Freakishly thin. So much that you worry it's not a batter at all. But trust in the ingredients and it will turn out correctly. Mine almost never come out round, so don't worry if yours don't either. Keep the heat fairly low, I use the click just to the left of Medium on my stove. But also keep in mind that because of the amount of liquid, these are really hard to burn. Which is good because they need the cooking time in order to stay together. If you feel the need to add some yeast for the sake of staunch traditionalism, go for it. I didn't notice anything to write home about. This is a good recipe for anyone who doesn't want to waste a whole package of yeast just for some pancakes. If you feel it needs to be made with buckwheat (though there's nothing in the overall definition of the blini/blintz family that says it has to be made that way), well there is a recipe on here for the buckwheat version. Lastly, I've also made this recipe with water instead of milk and it worked really well, just decrease the amount of liquid by about a half-cup for the full recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Sorry, but this didn't meet my expectations at all. Didn't turn out well, and I followed the recipe exactly. Tasted even worse than they looked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was just ok tasting but not what I was looking for. All of the blini I've had were yeast risen (some had buckwheat some not). These didn't have the flavor- they were more like watery crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These arent EXACTLY "blini"...I made them and they turned out completely thin and just strange-blini, in russian, arent thin!! :) Overall they were DELICIOUS which is good and yumm with sour cream ...wow .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe was OK, but a little tricky. I ruined a few blini before figuring out that I had to make sure my pan wasn't too hot when I poured in the batter. If it was, the bottom layer cooked instantly, and the top part was still liquid- impossible to flip. Otherwise, it was good, but not the best blini I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Just like my grandma used to make. I let them cool and then rolled up strawberry yogurt in the middle and topped with fresh strawberries, bananas and blueberries. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoisington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
They're good when made good and appreciated for their "thinness" ;) Yes, with sour cream, jam, and honey is a nice touch. Another thing you can do to them is take cream cheese (whole package), sour cream (about half of a normal size), maybe 1/4 to 1/2 cup of sugar, and cottage cheese. Mix well. Add a spoon or 2 to each of your "blini", roll each one up, place in a glass pan (all) and bake for about 20-30 minutes at 325*. Check to see if they're done; if cottage cheese is gone, then they're done!! Good luck and priyatnovo appetita (bon appetite)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
The mix of ingredients does not work. Do not try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States