Russian Pancakes - Blini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Sorry, but this didn't meet my expectations at all. Didn't turn out well, and I followed the recipe exactly. Tasted even worse than they looked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was just ok tasting but not what I was looking for. All of the blini I've had were yeast risen (some had buckwheat some not). These didn't have the flavor- they were more like watery crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These arent EXACTLY "blini"...I made them and they turned out completely thin and just strange-blini, in russian, arent thin!! :) Overall they were DELICIOUS which is good and yumm with sour cream ...wow .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe was OK, but a little tricky. I ruined a few blini before figuring out that I had to make sure my pan wasn't too hot when I poured in the batter. If it was, the bottom layer cooked instantly, and the top part was still liquid- impossible to flip. Otherwise, it was good, but not the best blini I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Just like my grandma used to make. I let them cool and then rolled up strawberry yogurt in the middle and topped with fresh strawberries, bananas and blueberries. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoisington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
They're good when made good and appreciated for their "thinness" ;) Yes, with sour cream, jam, and honey is a nice touch. Another thing you can do to them is take cream cheese (whole package), sour cream (about half of a normal size), maybe 1/4 to 1/2 cup of sugar, and cottage cheese. Mix well. Add a spoon or 2 to each of your "blini", roll each one up, place in a glass pan (all) and bake for about 20-30 minutes at 325*. Check to see if they're done; if cottage cheese is gone, then they're done!! Good luck and priyatnovo appetita (bon appetite)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
The mix of ingredients does not work. Do not try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Batter was way too thin! I added an extra 1/2 cup flour and 2 tbsp. vegetable oil to the mix and it was better...at least they cooked and weren't a sloppy milky mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Maybe why some of you had problems with this recipe is because you were trying to make something out of it, that it is not. Blini are not made with this buckwheat, nor can they be "too thin". Blini are -not- crepes or pancakes, as so many people want to think they are if they've never tried them. This is a good recipe, don't try to change it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States