Russian Pancakes - Blini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I'm Russian and I make Blini for years. The recipe I use is a little bit different but works like a charm: 1 1/2 cups of milk, 2 eggs, 3 TBSP oil, 1 cup flour, 1/4 tsp salt. Mix well together, it is important that you don't have any lamps! and rest is the same... the batter should be very thin! I feel these with different thing, not always sweet, this is why I do not add sugar to the batter. (The original actually goes with caviar :)) Good luck, and it takes time to make the perfect blini, so do not get discouraged! it worth it! Mine disappear in minutes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I liked this recipe the best out of all others I found...but I couldn't do it. The batter was too thin to flip I found a video on youtube that worked out better. I had to add a little over 1/4 of a cup of flour to work with it. I recommend watching pokergypsys video on youtube called gypsy blinis they came out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikEvil

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Perfect blini recipe! You can tell by how thin the batter is. I like mine with nutella, strawberries, and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
batter was slightly too thin, so i added more flour and then a little more sugar. also took someone else's advice and added a pinch of baking soda and wow...this was really tasty!! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Excellent recipe. Thin blinis came out heavenly. Very easy to make. Patience required in the cooking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I tried this twice, but it didn't work out either time. I used evaporated milk + water, then used just water (using less as suggested by a reviewer). Maybe that made it too thin. I added a little flour halfway through the first batch - that kept them in one piece, but they were 'eggy', and not at all crisp. The only way I got this to work was to throw them out and make crepes instead. I will suggest that for easier flipping (if anyone's been lucky enough to get that far), you should grease the pan with butter instead of oil, sliding a little under the blini just before its ready to be flipped. For the author's sake, I'll try this again when I have the milk it's calling for, but I really think the measurements on the ingredients need to be tweeked for this to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maralin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe is great, however, like some people noted you can add some pinch of baking soda, so it is more porous, and stick less to the pan. For those who could not work it out the first time, it is no big deal. Actually, the first blin is always unsuccessful. You gotta get used to making them and come up with a perfect way. I started making them since I was 14 for my little brother, so I can say I have my way:) By the way, if anyone knows how to make Russian Tvorozhniki, cheese cakes kind of, please would you mind sharing a recipe? Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Cuadra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Okinawa, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I am a very experienced cook/baker. I have made every kind of pancake under the sun as well...this recipe, I have to say, failed terribly. I tried this recipe on two seperate occations. Tried with different temperatures, different pans, different spatulas, different oils/butter/spray and eventually, I just added more flour and salvaged my batter and made delicious Norweigen pancakes filled with sour cream and raspberry jelly. I really wish they would have worked....I will attempt Blini again..but certainly NOT with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I like thin properly made Blini's but unless the liquid has a bit more flour, it will not pour in anything that would make the round ones in the picture. My friends in Russia always showed me how thick the batter should be and how to pour them. The first one never comes off the pan well, and that is to be expected. A well seasoned hot cast iron pan is what they used with oil and not cooking spray. It also lacks the tiny holes, but my friends always added a pinch of baking soda and a very small amount of warm water. Once flour was added though this recipe had good flavor, but was is still not quite the traditional Blini I was familiar with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These are great. My friend from Russia would melt Swiss cheese in them and serve them with sour cream. I would eat them every day if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States