Russian Pancakes - Blini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
This recipe is very similar to the one my Russian mother-in-law always made. For hers it used yeast and the batter was made the night before then left to sit in the fridge overnight. The thing to be said from past experience is that these are meant to be as thin as possible and we always messed 1 or 2 up before getting that perfect temperature. We even used different sized pans. Also, don't expect round. We never poured ours to reach the side of the pan. They would be roundish, but not perfectly round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Newton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Somerset, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is very close to the recipe I use for Maslenitsa (Butter Week - beginning of Lent) when I make Blini at least three times daily. Sour cream and caviar are my favourite toppings. In my recipe, I will also add a teaspooin of active yeast and allow the batter to sit for an hour before cooking. This makes them less likely to tear. Be aware that the most important step is the temperature of the pan. It is normal for the first two or three to be ruined until you get the pan at just the right temp. Lots of REAL butter is essential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walker Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Much lighter than regular pancakes without all the bread-iness to it ... Definitely going to become a staple in our house with simmered fresh fruit and whip cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
What I got were oily, slimy, gelatinous blobs that tasted like bad omelets with a bit of flour. I had to completely change the recipe to make something resembling the blini I had before. I ended up using approximately 1 egg, 1 tbsp sugar, 2 c flour, 1 1/2 c milk, 1 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp vegetable oil, 1 tbsp baking powder, 1 tbsp baking soda, and I used no butter in the pan while cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Some of the other reviews are correct. The amount of milk was way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miasmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe. It was very good. I've been looking for a recipe that comes close to my grandparents recipe that was handed down the generations. But I can't come close to the ingredients that was used. My grandparents were from Belarus. The blini's that I grew up on were made with grated potato's, flour, eggs, and cooked in salt pork fat. More flour for thicker pancakes, salt, pepper for taste. They were extremely delicious. If it was baked in the oven a bit of baking powder was used to rise like a meatloaf. I'm confused to what the real name for this is. Does anyone know what I'm referring to? Please reply if you have any information. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaRae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Works perfectly. I made mini-blinis to serve with caviar. Each blini came out at about 2" diameter. I used a turkey baster to put the batter into the skillet and it was easy and helped make the blinis round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAPrincess2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I had Blini for the first time in Irkutsk Russia, from that point on I was hooked. I asked Mama Rita ( lady who ran the B&B) for the recipe,which I lost along my travels. I must say that this is the closest thing to the recipe that she gave me. I used a little less milk and it came out great. Dont worry that it looks too liquidy. It will come together when you our it into the hot pan. When Its done I butter it and fold them in 1/4's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
The batter is extremely thin and burned quickly. Very difficult to flip; I ended up with a messy disaster. My boyfriend is from St. Petersburg, and we have recently returned from a visit to his family in Belarus, where his mother prepared awesome blini. I'll be asking for her recipe. :( I'm very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
These were basically impossible to flip. they stuck to the pan, no matter what oil/butter we used. although, the clumps that turned out were delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States