Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
The leeks are lovely in this soup. I would not substitute onions or scallions as some did. I topped with some shredded cheese as one reviewer mentioned, but it's not really necessary. This is easy to make and good. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Easy recipe. I left the skins on, I hate to waste food. I didn't add flour. Instead I pureed some of the soup to thicken, before adding the mushrooms. I also used sour cream, instead of hall and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Excellent. I substituted the butter with canola oil, and it tasted great! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
My family loved this soup! I am vegetarian so I used Not-Chicken CHicken stock. I added some celery and doubled the carrots. To thicken it I used about a teaspoon of corn starch and a tablespoon of flour, mixed with the half and half. This was for HALF the recipe. I wish I'd made it all! My husband is a devout carnivore and added bacon to his, but tried mine and said it was great even without! I will definitely be making this each fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Loved this soup! Made it exactly "as is" EXCEPT I didn't have any leeks at home so I used finely chopped onion. I think a leek would be better, but the soup was still awesome using a regular old cooking onion. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The flavor of this soup was awesome. I like extra veggies so I doubled them and it is going to be one of my staple soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This was easy to make, nourishing and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I am not sure if this is authentic Russian cuisine but this past Summer we were in St.Petersburg. I do know they had many potato and soup dishes. We paired this with dark bread and fish.The soup was so very good. I made it as written but used veggie broth for vegetarians in family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Just made this soup today for the first time, -and it was so delicious! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for. It was hearty, yet light. I loved the mild flavor. I was asked for the recipe. I will be making this ongoing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goodcook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Absolutely perfect. The tastes were just right. I have tried cuisine from Russia before and this was right along their lines. Not too heavy on spices and creamy. This is a favorite in my home now. Great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States