Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I made this soup this weekend and my husband said it was one of the best soups he'd ever had! He has been on several missions trips to Ukraine, and he thought it tasted just like the soup he'd eaten there. I did take into consideration the suggestions to reduce the salt, butter, and mushrooms. I discovered (too late) that I was out of bay leaves, so I substituted 1/4 tsp. thyme. I also used baby portabellas and unpeeled red potatoes. I don't believe these changes really altered the original recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adell, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
My kids don't like mushrooms, but they love this soup. I blend everything together with a hand blender before adding the half-and-half and flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWARKMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This soup is A-mazing! It is so worth all of the peeling, chopping and sauteeing! The only change I made was to use sour cream instead of half and half because it's what I had available. Glad there's enough to freeze leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This soup is awesome!!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Perfect. Next time I'll decrease the butter as there was a bit too much floating at the top. I used 1/2c half and half instead of 1 cup and it was the great -not too thick (chowder-like) or watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. Can't say enough about the wonderful dill flavor. It's even better on the second day. Will be making this one many times this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
My boyfriend and I loved this soup. He made it and says its the best he ever made ! He sauteed all of the veggies first. We followed the rest of the recipe. Tasted great warmed up the next day. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohio Cook Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I have made this twice now, once on a chilly fall night, and once as part of a special Father's Day dinner. It was a total success both times. I was so impressed with the quality of soup this turned out! It was restaurant quality and got rave reviews from my family. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Excellent soup! Prepared it according to the recipe and added crumbled bacon and cheddar to each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiehome6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
This was a wonderful soup. My husband, who is not a big soup eater, ate three bowls. The flavours meld together so well, it was quite delicious. I was worried about the amount of dill, but it was just right. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States