Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Amazingly good! My mother and I made this on a cold, windy night and it hit the spot right on!!!! Tastes like an old family recipe that came over from Czechoslovakia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Quite tasty. The only thing I did differently was to use my immersian blender for a few pulses before I put in the mushrooms. Having done that I think next time I'll skip the flour - it would thicken up nicely without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
OMG So so good!! :) Im sorry I didn't have all the ingredients so I did use a few substitutions.... Parsley for the dill, onions for the leeks, and sour cream for the half and half... It was full flavored and so yummy!! :))) ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made this exactly as written and it was very good. My family loved it and I will definitely be making it again. For me it was not bland, it was just that the flavors of the ingredients were subtle, with the mushrooms standing out with the most flavor. If you like alot of flavor, I think that adding some shredded cheese and/or bacon on top would be really good. And definitely have some hot, crusty bread with this soup for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I love dill but I didnt like this soup. Was some what bland except for over powering taste of dill. I did not garnish with more dill as stated in the directions, I did crumble a little bacon on top. Maybe some sour cream would help or paprika. On a positive note was easy to make and not expensive ingredients Sorry I cant be more positive on the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is always a big hit with my family (hubby, 5yo, 3yo, and 18mo old). I've made this a couple of times following the recipe almost exactly (left out the flour) and it is very very good. I've also made it using 4c vegetable broth 2c water (since the box broth comes in 32oz sizes) and replaced the half and half plus flour mixture with heavy cream since I'm not a huge fan of adding flour to soups. If you add a little extra potato and blend about a cup or two of the soup at the end and add it back that will thicken the soup up nicely. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe finally prompted me to join allrecipes just to give a review of this soup. I made it this fall exactly as specified. Amazing. I have (after making it for my family's traditional Polish Christmas Eve dinner) only made one change. I pour in the half and half into the soup, then make a flour paste with water, and slowly stir in. Seems to thicken better that way. The picky husband loves it as well as my 3 and 6 yr old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Rich, delicious soup. I did substitute canola oil in place of the butter for the sautéing but it still was fabulous. Definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I did not change any of the recipe ingredients, only used more mushrooms and fewer potatoes because that was what I had in house. Satisfying, warming, delicious soup with complex but light flavors. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great flavor. Very easy to make. I used sour cream insted if hal-n-half as suggested by others. I also used green onions in place of the leeks. i will make this again. Very hearty without many calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States