Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This soup is hearty and delicious! Perfect for a cool rainy New England fall day. I did substitute a sweet onion for the leeks and used thyme since I'm not a big fan of dill. Will definitely be making this again throughout the fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this soup recently for my wife. This is an incredibly easy and tasty dish! I chose to slice the potatoes super thin so they would break up more during cooking and I was pleased with the resulting thicker soup. We both loved this soup and will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Make this soup once a month. We love the mushroom taste to this soup. Used coconut milk in place of half & half. Used cayenne pepper in place of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I loved this soup! :D My husband and I were skeptical, nevering having had Russian cuisine before. However, we are VERY happy with this soup and will be making it again! The ONLY changes I made were 2 tbls (heaping) of Sour Cream and I substituted Whole Milk for 1/2 and 1/2 since I had none. Also - we garnished with "Fiesta-blend" cheese. Five stars, all the way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Excellent soup! Even better the 2nd day! However it only serves about 6 adults as a main course soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I love this stuff so much and so does my husband. It's the only 'vegetarian' meal that he'll eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mihi
Home Town: White House, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tree
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a wonderful soup! You could serve this in any situation. It is a beautiful and hearty soup. I didn't change a thing outside the fact that I just didn't have carrots. I noticed that one reviewer said that they didn't have to add the half and half, but it gives the soup a really nice creaminess. I wouldn't change a thing and I will be using this over and over. I did however cook bacon crumbled up on the side with grated cheese and chives for those that wanted to eat it like the loaded potato soup. Thanks Teresa, we love it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
My husband was very skeptical about this soup when I described it to him but after tasting it he decided it was one of the best soups he's had! Since he is lactose intolerant, I went with the suggestion of one reviewer to blend part of the soup to thicken it (blending before the mushrooms were added). I mixed 2 tablespoons of flour with 1/2 cup of lactose free milk (that had a splash of heavy cream in it) to further thicken the soup and add a creaminess to it. This soup is very flavorful and so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Very good. I will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Really good! I only gave it 4 stars because I only added 1 tsp. salt as I felt 2 tsp. was way too much. I was right - if I had used 2 tsp. as the recipe states, it would have been inedible. Even with just 1 tsp. the soup was a little too salty (and I love salt!). I think it really depends on your chicken stock. The recipe should say "salt to taste" rather than specify 2 tsp. Anyway, it was very delicious - great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States