Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I did substitute veg broth instead of chicken (to make vegetarian) and whole milk instead of half-and-half (because it's what I had) but don't think these subs changed the integrity of the recipe so I'm rating it still. It was very good, and I will def make this regularly! I didn't find it too bland at all, not too salty (type/brand of broth used makes big difference), and the dill was a nice change of pace from the spices I typically use in soups. While blending some of the soup would thicken it, I enjoyed the texture of the thick and chunky broth by using milk/flour to thicken; it makes it more of a hearty main meal than a first course. Worth the calories. The only change I will probably do going forward is an onion instead of leeks, only because it's what I normally have on hand. I'm not a huge fan of potato soups so thank you for giving me a version that I devour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe comes very close to the soup that I had in Yoshkar-Ola, Russia. Of course, they use all natural ingredients ie: Forest-picked mushrooms real cream and home grown leeks that are sometimes difficult to find in the US. This is a super healthy cold-winter soup that will charm your soul. My Russian wife gives this a thumbs up buts suggests to fry the mushrooms first in sunflower oil and add them in the end to finish the soup. It's no wonder that they live to 90+ years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Wonderful! My Hubby and I intend to make this again! We loved it as it is now we're going to try it with more mushrooms!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made it according to recipe but felt it lacked a depth of flavor -- not sure what was missing, but added a bit of cooking sherry and two cloves of crushed garlic while it simmered and then served it with shredded cheddar on top -- the sherry, garlic and cheese seemed to help develop the flavors more fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great soup and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Added 3 cloves of RUSSIAN garlic , used Enoki mushrooms striate into soup at the end with no thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norman D.  Wiedenman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was very easy and tastes as though it's much more complicated! I didn't have half-and-half on hand, only low-fat milk and it still came out delicious. Just a side note, I used red potatoes because they hold up better than russets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My new, favorite potato soup recipe! I just made a half recipe, since there are 2 of us, but it was easy to make that adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This soup is hearty and delicious! Perfect for a cool rainy New England fall day. I did substitute a sweet onion for the leeks and used thyme since I'm not a big fan of dill. Will definitely be making this again throughout the fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this soup recently for my wife. This is an incredibly easy and tasty dish! I chose to slice the potatoes super thin so they would break up more during cooking and I was pleased with the resulting thicker soup. We both loved this soup and will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States