Russian Mushroom and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This recipe comes very close to the soup that I had in Yoshkar-Ola, Russia. Of course, they use all natural ingredients ie: Forest-picked mushrooms real cream and home grown leeks that are sometimes difficult to find in the US. This is a super healthy cold-winter soup that will charm your soul. My Russian wife gives this a thumbs up buts suggests to fry the mushrooms first in sunflower oil and add them in the end to finish the soup. It's no wonder that they live to 90+ years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Wonderful! My Hubby and I intend to make this again! We loved it as it is now we're going to try it with more mushrooms!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made it according to recipe but felt it lacked a depth of flavor -- not sure what was missing, but added a bit of cooking sherry and two cloves of crushed garlic while it simmered and then served it with shredded cheddar on top -- the sherry, garlic and cheese seemed to help develop the flavors more fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great soup and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Added 3 cloves of RUSSIAN garlic , used Enoki mushrooms striate into soup at the end with no thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norman D.  Wiedenman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was very easy and tastes as though it's much more complicated! I didn't have half-and-half on hand, only low-fat milk and it still came out delicious. Just a side note, I used red potatoes because they hold up better than russets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My new, favorite potato soup recipe! I just made a half recipe, since there are 2 of us, but it was easy to make that adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This soup is hearty and delicious! Perfect for a cool rainy New England fall day. I did substitute a sweet onion for the leeks and used thyme since I'm not a big fan of dill. Will definitely be making this again throughout the fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this soup recently for my wife. This is an incredibly easy and tasty dish! I chose to slice the potatoes super thin so they would break up more during cooking and I was pleased with the resulting thicker soup. We both loved this soup and will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Make this soup once a month. We love the mushroom taste to this soup. Used coconut milk in place of half & half. Used cayenne pepper in place of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 674) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States