Russian Green Bean and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed this soup. Made it just as is, It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Best recipe for this soup I have found on the internet. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
No complaints about being bland. It has a very distinct pickle and sauerkraut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This soup is quite unusual, but very good. I liked the combination of ingrediens, but I would have used less onion. Also don't be afraid to add dill (and even a lot of dill), because it's great for soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Irkutsk, Irkutsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I really enjoyed this soup. Very different. I love all the ingredients. I used dried dill because I didn't have fresh. I also used the whole can of sauerkraut. I used plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream. I think this soup will be even better the next day after the flavors meld.... I will make it again. Yummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mari1751

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Utterly Wonderful ..... AFTER adjusting seasonings with sugar, salt, pepper, and since I oopsed with too much sugar, a touch more kraut brine...., AND AFTER succumbing to the omnivore in our family and thereby adding half a pound of smoked turkey sausage per recipe (we used a whole pound since we doubled the recipe). The sausage was sliced about 1/4" thick and each slice cut in quarters. The small'sh bits then did not at any time overpower the soup, but merely complimented it tremendously well. Tried making this in the crockpot, and still tasted wonderful except that we didn't get the soup to thicken. We had tried stirring the flour into the sour cream right after putting the other ingredients into the crock pot, then storing both together in a saucepan in the fridge. Shortly before serving, we added some broth to the sour cream mixture, brought it to a boil and it was as thick as could be until we stirred it into the soup. The soup remained completely unthickened, but the sour cream was a nice touch anyway. Will likely try a non-dairy variety next time (used low fat sour cream this time). Served with blinis and smoked salmon. Leftovers were nice to have around, so we were glad to have doubled the recipe. --- Next time will possibly leave thin, cook on the stove top, transfer to the stovetop to thicken, will add extra potatoes at the beginning in order to blend in some of them, or will simply add some instant potato flakes at the end to thicken slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I wasn't so sure about this on my first bowl, fresh out of the pot. But honestly, the longer it has sat in my fridge, the better it is tasting (flavors are melding, perhaps?) and now I really like it. I made a couple minor changes: used all purpose instread of red potatoes, regular instead of whole wheat flour, and about a tablespoon of dried dill instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I made this tonight and definitely overate as I had 2 bowls. I find this a truely addictive soup. I do not think that it would be the same with canned beans so would recommend that if fresh is not available use frozen but I think fresh is best. Thank you for the recipe, this will be a new go to comfort soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Printed this recipe out last winter in anticipation of fresh green beans from the garden. Why did I wait so long??? Made last night (after picking 8 oz. of beans in 100 degree sun) and followed the directions to the T (very unusual for me). This needs absolutely no changes. Hubby and I both loved and will add to our regular rotaton with emphasis on these summer beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweets
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was a great weeknight meal. I added any leftover veggies I had in the fridge! A carrot and a bit of celery. I didn't have saurkraut or dill, but it was great without it! Add the sour cream and flour seperatly! And add more water/broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States