Russian Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I thought this was really tasty! I've never boiled eggplant before but was willing to try it. The lemon juice in the first step really complimented the overall taste. Surprisingly I could still taste a hint of lemon even after I boiled it. The only thing I did different was to microwave my onions for about a minute before layering them. And I also added garlic salt on each of my layers. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I've never cooked eggplant myself, but I figured I'd give it a go here. This. was. Delicious. I made small adjustments as other reviews suggested. Sauteed onions in olive oil with salt pepper, oregano(and threw in a few mushrooms) and sauteed the tomato slices for maybe a minute each(added garlic powder and oregano there too.) Did not boil the eggplant. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
It was good, but it didn't get saucy enough. I think I'll add a can of mushroom soup to the sour cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abcdhahs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I don't really like eggplant, but I keep trying. I liked this. At first I wasn't sure, but with the second bowlful I figured I must like it. It has a tangy and pleasant flavor. I would not call it bland at all. I served it over millet. I actually liked it better leftover (for breakfast!). I did not boil the vegetable and mine came out watery I think because of that. I will broil or boil the eggplant next time. Also, it was not "creamy" I think because I used low fat sour cream. The onions should be sliced very thin and added raw - they really do add a nice texture and flavor. I will make it again but I will follow the recipe more closely. Yup, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
We needed to cook it a lot longer than specified for some reason, like 2:30 before the onions got where we wanted them and by that time the eggplant had disintegrated into the sauce. It was still delicious and we're looking forward to our next trial. I also added some cauliflower and potatoes which were nice additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derrill Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
More eggplant less onion. I would suggest 1 onion if you choose not to add extra eggplant. The 3 rating is for the overpowering onion. Need more of a eggplant presence versus onion. I used diced tomatoes for the tomato layer and added fresh tomatoes on top. I would not change this for next time. Leaving the extra tomato and reducing the onion would make this better tasting. Add dill too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Love Love Loved it! I have eggplant and sour cream (admittedly, two of my favourite things) left over in my fridge and I thought I'd see if Allrecipes had anything that would use them both. I didn't boil the eggplant (I don't approve of boiling vegetables with the possible exception of potatoes) but I also had Asian eggplants, so I didn't need to salt them. I just cut them up, layered with the flour, tomato and onion, more flour, eggplant again. Then it turned out that I only had one c up of sour cream, so I topped it up with some mayo and I also threw some parmesan in there. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I decided to make this even though there were multiple mediocre reviews. It was so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
we really enjoy this simple dish, so much so that i make it on a regular basis. i never parboil the eggplant; i just layer the ingredients and season with salt and pepper on every layer. i add the lemon juice to the sour cream and about four cloves or a big tablespoon of garlic to the sour cream. super simple, creamy and not all that bad for you. bake it for about an hour or until the top is bubbly and golden. i really enjoy it over calrose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Tweed

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
this recipe was great. The first time I boild my eggplant and sauteed onions in olive oil, next time I steamed onions and eggplant , i used a can of italian stewed tomatoes both times, and at each stage of steaming put garlic across teh top. i was generous wth the paprika on top of the whole thing too. it was far from bland. i also used cottage cheese in with the sour cream as i was low on the sour cream the and didnt wish to run to teh store. i am rating it a four because it does not say to steam or boil the veggies and i feel it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgiana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Eggplant Parmesan II

See how to make a delicious no-fry version of eggplant Parmesan.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States