Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Really delicious recipe! Full of umami, sweet and a little sour. I end up adding more vinegar than the recipe calls for to achieve a pucker that offsets all the other flavors perfectly. I do end up using about three times as much beets as potato because that's the star for me. I've served it without sour cream and loved it just as much. My husband talks unconsciously about how delicious it is while spooning more in his mouth, which tells me he really loves it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
really awesome, loved it. we will definitely make it again. my only complaint is there wasn't enough of it haha. i would double it next time as one batch was about 4 servings for us. i used one yellow potato, one medium beet, one medium onion, probably 3 tbsp butter, crushed tomatoes (instead of tomato puree), omitted the salt, and used 1/8 tsp dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I'm glad I gave this a try - It was delicious! I served it with Greek yogurt and sour cream. I never used dill in Borscht before, and am pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I read over this recipe and it's ok.  I just posted a recipe for borscht on my website (www.revivingtraditions.com/russian-borscht) and it’s amazing how different borscht recipes can be. I think EVERYBODY’s borcht recipe is different. In fact, my borscht from week to week might even taste different! Borscht just has that reputation. Cheers from a true Russian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My husband I loved this soup. I left-out the tomatoes and tomato puree cause I dislike tomato in my Borscht and added more fresh dill and less salt and it was just perfect to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Being Russian myself I have the courage to say this is a great borscht recipe with Russian flavor. Believe me. Remember the main thing: there is not the one authentic borcsht recipe, every single family make this dish her own way. There are thousand variations and interpretations of this dish. We have the main ingredients - beets, cabbage (not exactly red, you can easily use a regular white cabbage), potatoes, carrots and onions. And then use your imagination. Some people make meet borscht using pork or beef, some add mushrooms, I`ve heard of even adding prunes. As to this recipe I would change the proportions a little just for my taste. I would use 1 1/2 cup beets, only one large onion and less tomato puree (tomatoes are optional but make the borscht tastier). Don`t substitute cumin for caraway seeds. Cumin has an oriental flavor that can ruin Russian flavor in borscht. If you don`t have caraway seeds just omit then, they are optional. And definitely serve the borscht with sour cream, very traditional. The borscht consistency depends on your personal preference, if you prefer thick, add less water or more vegetables, if you prefer watery, add more water. So if you want to try Russian borscht, this is a great recipe to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I have made this quite a few times now and absolutely love it. I do tend to add more veggies than it calls for (2 carrots, extra beets, more cabbage) and throw in another 2 cups of stock. I wish I had a HUGE skillet to make an even bigger batch. To me, the caraway seeds are NOT optional. I have no knowledge of authentic borscht, but this tastes wonderful. It's a mainstay at our house, especially in the winter! We sometimes add pork to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
It was great! I made it almost exactly like it said and loved it. The only thing I changed was that I used 2.5 big tbsp of tomato paste at the end instead of the tomato puree. Very much like my Mennonite Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Learned a borscht trick at a Russian restaurant in Castlegar, BC. Sauté the onions, add chopped potatoes and beets; simmer till tender. Purée! Now return to pot and add rest of ingredients. Delicious thicker, hearty borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This Summer we were in St. Petersburg Russia to attend a Wedding so I was anxious to try making my own Borscht. This is very good but what we had there was more earthy.I believe they must have used beef broth also and shredded the beets.Which I may try next time. Our household liked this very much as written and will add to our soup Sunday list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States