Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This is magic!! This was my first time making borscht, and even my very non-Russian mother, who is very dubious about beets and carraway seeds, confessed that she loved it. This is now my go-to recipe for snowy winter evenings. I'm so excited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E.G. Peck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Good recipe. Hearty and adaptable. The caraway and cider vinegar are nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nilifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was absolutely delicious soup. I added tomato sauce instead of puree and it was fine. I doubled the recipe and it went very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin Elizabeth Pielak
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Soooo good! I had never made or even tried this soup before! Scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Nagele-Piazza
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This turned out perfect! I followed the instructions without modification. It's a great combination of flavors that contributed to a pleasant, hearty soup. I also like that this recipe didn't call for heavy cream since the sour cream is enough. We will definitely make this version of borscht again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Nagele-Piazza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
A Russian friend has introduced me to her cooking and now I have a new foodie passion. This recipe is the first Russian/Ukraine food I've ever attempted, so I did not dare change a thing. And it was fabulous. I recently ate at a reputable Russian/Ukrainian restaurant in Chicago with this same Russian friend, and this borscht was far better than that which I paid $9/bowl for. I will likely add another 1-2 cups of stock to help it go a little further. And definitely serve it with a dollop of sour cream. (And thank you to the reviewer whom suggested using Trader Joe's precooked beets.I will try that next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Best dish ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
it's a perfectly fine recipe. i made it vegan (except for the honey) and it was tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Just made this. This is delicious! Just like the one from Veselka in the East Village of NYC, where the Little Ukraine is located.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is pretty much like the borscht I usually make except I use beef stock and diced canned tomatoes. Mine did not have the apple cider vinegar or honey which I tried this time. Imo this is a delicious borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States