Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Best UKRAINIAN DISH ever. Some Russians love and cook it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
it's a perfectly fine recipe. i made it vegan (except for the honey) and it was tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Paul

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Just made this. This is delicious! Just like the one from Veselka in the East Village of NYC, where the Little Ukraine is located.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This is pretty much like the borscht I usually make except I use beef stock and diced canned tomatoes. Mine did not have the apple cider vinegar or honey which I tried this time. Imo this is a delicious borscht.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Been living in Russia for 10 years, and this was one of the best I've tried. There are several types of borsch - sweet or sour, tomato-ey or beet-ey. This is a beet-ey, sweet one which is just the type that I love. Tasted very authentic. I put in two medium sized beets (more than the recipe called for), and about 1.25L of broth (also more). I also added 350g of cubed beef. Simmered for about 4 hours. I would say it could about 4 people. No need to debate the merits of certain ingredients and whether they should or shouldn't be in a "real" borsch recipe. The end result is that this tastes exactly as borsch should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Makes enough to feed an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Really delicious recipe! Full of umami, sweet and a little sour. I end up adding more vinegar than the recipe calls for to achieve a pucker that offsets all the other flavors perfectly. I do end up using about three times as much beets as potato because that's the star for me. I've served it without sour cream and loved it just as much. My husband talks unconsciously about how delicious it is while spooning more in his mouth, which tells me he really loves it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
really awesome, loved it. we will definitely make it again. my only complaint is there wasn't enough of it haha. i would double it next time as one batch was about 4 servings for us. i used one yellow potato, one medium beet, one medium onion, probably 3 tbsp butter, crushed tomatoes (instead of tomato puree), omitted the salt, and used 1/8 tsp dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I'm glad I gave this a try - It was delicious! I served it with Greek yogurt and sour cream. I never used dill in Borscht before, and am pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I read over this recipe and it's ok.  I just posted a recipe for borscht on my website (www.revivingtraditions.com/russian-borscht) and it’s amazing how different borscht recipes can be. I think EVERYBODY’s borcht recipe is different. In fact, my borscht from week to week might even taste different! Borscht just has that reputation. Cheers from a true Russian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States