Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
Tried it and enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I made this and loved it. It was my first time making borscht also but I've eaten plenty and this rates with the best. The dill and caraway really make the flavour - I left out the honey and didn't miss it. There's probably a different borscht recipe for every town in eastern Europe. Who cares? It's the taste that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is a really yummy soup. Hearty, flavorful- who cares if it's not "authentic"? I've traveled in Russia and several republics and it had just the taste I remember, except a little thicker (I did add some more liquid to this one) and sweeter. I didn't have caraway seeds, so that might have given it a nice pungent offset to the sweet. I would probably just put in a teaspoon of honey or no honey if you've got nice, fresh beets and cabbage. I used Hungarian paprika to season it and that was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
great! but i changed it a little. I added homemade beef bone broth. I eliminated the honey and tomato and replaced it with 1 can of brown beans in tomato sauce for a little more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SushiKite

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quadra Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This is the MOST AWESOME and the most delicious Borcht that I have ever tasted, such a brilliant recipe. The cider vinegar and the little bit of honey, really does give it something special! Well done, it tastes just like my grandma and grandpa would make!! Well done and thanks! Cheers, Kate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Mmmm! This was so hearty and delicious. I'd never had or made borscht before, so I followed the recipe exactly--except I realized at the last minute that I didn't have caraway, so I used fennel seed, cumin seed (according to Cook's Thesaurus--who knew?), and extra dill, and it turned out great. Also, I used fresh tomato puree, so that might have altered the flavor a bit from canned. This took some time to put together the first time, but it's really simple prep and comes together very easily. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Amazing! The onions sauted in butter with caraway seeds form a rich base to this soup. I had excellent farmers market beets and didn't bother to put in the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Loved this borscht! Used all organic produce from our CSA farm share. This was a great way to use our potatoes, beets, carrots and cabbage. I didn't have caraway so I substituted hungarian paprika. And I used 4 cups turkey stock for the initial cooking of the beets and potatoes. I left out the honey since my beets were already sweet, but I did add the vinegar because I like tang with my beets. Topped with sour cream...very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Fantastic! Give this one a try. We are part of a CSA and are getting lots of beets and cabbage. Now I know how to use them. Thanks so much for posting this. My husband even gave it an 8 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My family loved this soup. I invited our neighbours to try it, they love it as well. I added a love of garlic, but other wise made the exact recipe. I want to thank Puma who posted the recipe. I will make this time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States