Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My beet- and cabbage-hating husband liked this quite well! It was a welcome change from our standard fare, and I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I loved it. It was so delicious and so reach in taste. Very good recipe, definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bitola, Pelagonia, Macedonia
Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I followed this recipe as written with the exceptions: my red cabbage was too small, but after reading one of the other reviewers that mentioned his grandmother used the beet greens too, I chopped and included them. After that I needed a bit more liquid so added 2 more cups of broth, increased the dill weed, cider vinegar & honey by half and used a 10.75 oz can of tomato puree. After reading quite a bit about borscht I get the idea that it's a lot like beef stew is here in the US. There are similar ingredients but probably a different recipe for every cook depending what they have available to use at the time – we loved the addition of the beet greens too. This was my first attempt at making it (and eating it) so I can't say if it's authentic, but I can say we thought it was a winner. Thanks Puma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Well, either the little old lady from Turkey bought the "Moosewood Cookbook" by Mollie Katzen, or Mollie borrowed the recipe from the little old lady. In any event, this is the Russian Cabbage Borscht recipe from the "Moosewood Cookbook" (with some minor variations) and, I agree, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I didn't follow amounts exactly, as I hardly ever do... so I might've added more tomato than needed, but everyone still raved about it! I've never had borscht before, so I can't compare it. But nonetheless, it tasted great! I added some sausage in it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
As I kept tasting the soup, I added more vinegar and more honey than it called for. Really really good flavor and a beautiful color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Easy and delicious. I didn't have any tomato puree so I left it out. The only thing I would do differently is dice the beets, potatos, carrots, and celery so that the pieces are all close to the same size, rather than thinly slicing some and chopping others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This is my first time making a Russian borscht. I've been feeling under the weather with strep, and am a major soup-lover. I decided to make this borscht for me and my two male carnivorous roommate's. They're not usually the easiest to please, but they both loved this as much as I did. :) The only changes I made in keeping with the red theme are red potatoes and purple onions. I also added a bit more dill. I recommend this recipe to anyone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is probably my 3 grandsons favourite soup recipe - and these are children who seldom want to eat what is good for them. I make the recipe as stated but for the tomato puree (because I was not sure what was meant) I puree a jar of my canned tomatoes. I double or triple the recipe & feed the crowds! Pampered Chef has a "simple slicer" which slices the potatoes, beets & onions easily & evenly. Thank you for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
It was good, kind of difficult to make, lots of steps and careful slicing. We never had borscht before but like so many others got lots of stuff from our CSA that we are trying to be creative with. I was expecting the beets to make this a different flavor than I expected but it's very good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States