Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This unlike any "borscht" I have ever had. It's more like a vegetable stew. But really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
A keeper for sure !! We received beets in our CSA basket, and had never cooked with them before. Hoping for more beets, so we can make this soup again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I've had many different types of borscht, this one is very good. I've made it twice and added ground lamb the second time. If you add a meat, you should saute more onions, pepper, and caraway into the meat for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Really good hearty flavor. Made 2x in a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I have made this borscht over and over again and each time it is delicious. It reminds me of the cold winters I spent in Ukraine and warms my heart every time I eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Good recipe. For a different flavor try dill pickle juice instead of vinegar. I made it a day ahead because "yesterday's borcht is better than today's borscht" (Russian axiom). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Gillespie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Wow! This was fabulous! We all agreed that it was just as good as the Czech restaurant we go to. Next time I will be making a double recipe. My family of four ate all but 1 cup of it for dinner tonight (the recipe says it makes 8 servings) and we are all want the small bit of leftovers for tomorrows lunch. Maybe well each get 2 spoonfuls?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Made this for the first time yesterday and am still eating and loving it! I didn't have any tomato puree, so I added a can of diced tomatoes instead. I also added a lot more vinegar and dill, but only because I really really love those flavors. Don't leave out the caraway seeds--they really add another great dimension to the dish! I had difficulty slicing my beets thin enough and some still came out hard, but that's a problem with me, not the recipe. :) I will try grating them next time as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hblythe
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Perfect borscht soup and l hate borscht, but l have a small cafe and live in a russian village so this was tried tonight and now will be a primary soup thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Guys, I am Russian and I would say this recipe is ..eeeh..kind of ..just sounds like a Borscht, but...you know...I will try to add the original recipe in my recipe list in the next few days. Guys, I wanna tell you what! Make sure your borscht is red if its a red version, has enough garlic, herbs and lots of meat (if its not a vegetarian version). Make it out of pork short ribs previously baked up in an oven for 10-15 minutes! Add some mustard if you want to make the version of "borscht from the yesterday", this one is more tasty. Add some kidney beans (some people in Ukraine do this, I know), I don't like though=)) Nice combination of salt, pepper, vinegar, some sugar makes this dish incomparable. Lots of herbs-parsley, dill. You can add some cilantro if you like. I do all the time. Add garlic when the soup is done! There are million of variations of making this dish. What I do, I saute onions, celery, carrots, bell peppers( I love them to add), beet roots then, I add vinegar and set this mixture aside. Then, I make a stock and damp the mixture right in my meat stock. Don't be afraid in adding some crashed red chilies and some beef base as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Russian Magic Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States