Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I omitted the tomato puree, because one of my kids doesn't like tomatoes. It was still wonderful! My youngest children didn't like it because it was red from the beets, but everyone else loved it. Very healthy. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Tastes even better the next day, reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Of all the borscht recipe's we have tried, this one is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I diced all the veggies so they would all be about the same size, and used leeks instead of onions because that's what I had. Not sure it needed the honey as it was a little on the sweet side, but still very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Loved this! I did not use honey or potatoes (for carbs!) but still came out yummy :) I used red onion so the color and taste would pop. I recommend using Trader Joe's pre peeled beets (the whole package). Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious. Definitely hold the caraway if it's not a flavor you're a big fan of, it's pretty strong in this. One thing I'll change next time is adding more liquid, I prefer that it have more broth. At least another cup or two of veggie broth and a half a cup more of tomato puree would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Was really good! I'm just not sure why mine turned out so much darker looking then the other dishes?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I have the Moosewood Cookbook, from which this recipe comes, and have made this soup to rave reviews. Whether or not it is an authentic Russian borscht, it is still absolutely delicious! Everyone loves it. My grandfather, who always refused to eat vegetables in any way, shape or form, enthusiastically gobbled his down right to the last drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have never made borscht before but it's a soup that I absolutely love. Just finished making this recipe as is and it is FANTASTIC. I think I will eat this all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Nutritious and delicious. I made up a triple batch and it won't last long! Who cares if it's "authentic" borscht; as others have stated there are many variations, and this one is tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CalgaryJosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States