Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Was amazing! Followed the recipe until the end...did not add chopped tomatoes. Was delicious and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadajen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Added a little extra garlic, but then again we do that for most soups. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Fantastic! Added cubed tofu to make it a complete meal. The recipe for 8 would feed 4 for dinner though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Fantastic! Try this, you'll love it just as written! Not sure the tomato garnish adds anything though. Served with Ciabatta bread. Made the recipe for 8. But, I'd say that would serve 4 for dinner. Go for it, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RunsWithScissors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Wonderful and easy soup. The first time I had Borscht it used the beet greens as well, so I added them in. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a very good recipe, but I was hoping for more zing. Maybe more vinegar maybe leave out the honey, not sure but, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skseymour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I do like the big variety of vegetables used here. I used red onions, red wine vinegar, and roasted parsnips instead of potatoes. I also added bay leaf. Sometimes beauty is in simplicity, at times it's really best not too go crazy adding too many ingredients. I'm sure you've heard the expression "too many chefs spoil the broth", well, too many ingredients spoil the borscht! Just a few tweaks, swaps and maintaining the balance in between is all that's needed. P.S. If you really want to blow your tastebuds off the next time you make borscht, top the borscht with a small halo of the freshest chopped watercress you can get, then drop the sour cream in the center. And add a sprinkle of freshly chopped chives along with the fresh dill. My mouth is watering already lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Great Soup, I used my own Beef stock it adds much flavor and taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I know there are a million ways that people think this recipe is the real way of making it..but here's what I think of this recipe...it rocked! I happened to have red cabbage on hand that I needed to use and figured it was worth a try. I had red cabbage a second time in my life by trying this recipe and had beets for the first time. The only thing I didnt have was caraway and substituted the tomato puree for tomatoes and chilis canned. I was leery of adding the vinegar and honey and was afraid my tomatoes I added would make it more "mexican" tasting but it was to die for! It gave it plenty of taste and a lil' kick and my husband and I devoured it all! He asked me to make it again! Thank you for sharing this. Im always into trying new "old school" recipes and this was perfect- and healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My husband thought this was decent. I liked the broth, but I don't care for beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States