Russian Cabbage Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe is awesome! My whole family gobbled it up. I used more beets and even some greens. Put in some beef gravy I'd made from pan-seering some steaks instead of broth. Used 1/4 c. tomato paste. Otherwise, followed the recipe. I'll make this again! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKING66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Awesome...I had borscht in St. Petersburg back in 2000 and I suddenly was craving it again. This recipe hits the spot perfectly. One thing: I had to use more stock than the recipe called for. And I'd say it serves 4 rather than 8 if its the main dish... So good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe. To "kick it up a notch," substitute a small can of tomato paste for the tomato puree. And if I have some, I toss in dried mushrooms. (Completely untraditional, but totally yummy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Yum! It has all the flavors that I like in my mom's cabbage rolls, but no meat. Great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Delicious. Only 25 reviews? I wish more people here would try it because it deserves a chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I tried this recipe after eating borscht in a restaurant. I did not add potatoes or chopped tomatoes. I cooked the vegetables (carrots, onions, and celery) in large chunks with beef stew meat, in the crockpot, then removed the vegetables from the beef broth and added more beef bouillon for increased flavor. I added the shredded cabbage and beets and other seasonings as listed. This soup is unbelievably delicious. My husband doesn't like beets, but he loved this soup. A MUST TRY IT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scotland, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Mission Hill, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was so yummy. I chopped the potato, beets & cabbage to a chunky dice, used chicken broth and diced a tomato and added 8 oz. of tomato sauce rather than puree. It barely survived long enough to become leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
This was awesome! What a taste of home. My Russian grandmother used to make this and it had been so long since I had it, I'd forgotten how good it was. Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
For the first time, I made an "all Russian" dinner in honor of my son who we adopted from Russia 7 yrs ago. This borscht was definitely the best dish - it got rave reviews from everyone! I wouldn't change a thing, and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Amazing! The onions sauted in butter with caraway seeds form a rich base to this soup. I had excellent farmers market beets and didn't bother to put in the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States