Russian Beet Salad with Herring Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Good for using summer trout (which isn't my favorite) and making something tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Visit our website for more Russian cuisine recipes! rukitchen.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
russian food the best was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This "Russian Beet Salad with Herring" was one of the most delicious and beautiful salads that I have ever had. I wish that I could give it 10 stars! I made mine with BUBBIES herring, which I understand is a high-end brand. I used only the onion that was packed with the herring (although I chopped it finely) since I don't especially like raw onion in salad. I also garnished my salad with hard-boiled eggs and herbs as per Sasha's photo. I can hardly wait to make this again! Thank you Evgeniya for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
NICE! I love Shuba!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Original name of this salad is "pod shuboi"-Herring under the Winter Coat. Use to love it back in russia! Where can i find herring fillets in oil? PLS help!!!! Can't wait to make this salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
To remove excess salt herring, it must be cleaned and put it on 30 minutes in the milk. And to remove the bitterness of the onion, chop it and place it in the boiling water. Even sometimes add a thin layer of sweet-sour apple. It's not for everybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
My favorite Russian Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My darling and I ran into a 2.50$ pack of smoked herring in the store, sniffed it and were transfixed. We had some leftovers of potato salad (with onion, lemon and vinegar) from the previous day, so I invested 1$ in a can of beets and microwaved the remaining baby carrots that were counting days on the bottom of our fridge. As the herrings were hellishly salty, I soaked them in water for 20-30 min and only used three pieces. I had some sour cream, so I added it to one of the potato layers. I also boiled two eggs and added them on top, with a thin layer of mayo, a pinch of dried parsley and two (leftover) lemon slices for decoration. I haven't added any more salt nor pepper, except for what was already in the potato salad and herrings. It was DIVINE. I will make this many times in the future. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My Grandmother makes a similar salad like this, she says it's Slovenian, but I'm thinking she borrowed it from Russia. I've got a great recipe for Borscht Moskovsky that I made to go along with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States