Russian Beet and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I am not really sure beets will be ready in 30 minutes. It usually takes hours to make beets tender and ready to use. The other tip - cube the veggies when they cool off, potatos won't stick to other veggies and it won't look like a mess ;-) Good luck~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I did my own take on this recipe. I boiled the beets, and fried the potato and carrots. I used a cucumber and dill weed in place of the pickles. It turned out nicely! Thanks for inspiring me to create a twist of your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I love it but with some changes! The salad calls for sauerkraut and onions (not only green). Also you can add kidney beans and mustard. And the best oil here is sunflowerseed oil. Vinegar is not a must. Actually I can't imagine the taste of the salad with any kind of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Yummy! This was my first using beets and I was pleasantly surprised! Thank you for sharing this unique and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
My Russian wife from Yoshkar-Ola says that dill pickles are only served on the side and green onions are never served with the dish nor is the vinegar used. Those items are scarce in Russia. This recipe I tried is fantastic but not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Great recipe. I used mayonnaise instead of the vinegar and oil and added some finely sliced dill. It was excellent and everyone cleaned their plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I skipped the carrots and substituted Leeks for green onions (more fiber and a milder less acidic taste in my opinion). I also think I should have used Russets instead of the Yukon Golds. The Golds got too soft too quickly and turned orange. I think the starchier potato would have served the recipe better. I have to admit, I had a salad very very similar to this at a dinner a few months ago and that one was wonderful (cooked by people who had all spent time living in Russia, including a man visiting from Siberia). This was not as good, I think it's missing something. Maybe some Worcestershire Sauce? I unfortunately don't have any to try. As is, it is kind of bland. I may try it with pickled beets instead of boiled and see how that turns out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
It's a nice refreshing summer salad. Good also after a night of drinking like a Russian :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very good. I can't give any info on how authentic it is though but I like very much. Here are my mods: I make double so I doubled all the ingredients EXCEPT the oil and onion. This seems to increase the presence of the beet and carrot flavors imo. It also reduces the fat per serving making this a pretty healthy potato salad. I didn't have any champagne vinegar but raspberry vinegar works VERY well it seems. I think I'll try mustard next time as well. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
In the traditional version you never add vinegar or green onions. Though it's good to mention that people from different regions of Russia had their own versions. Instead of green onions we always used white onion. Adding a fresh cucumber or frying potatoes like other reviewers did is a big no no. People, you can change whatever you want, but you can't rate than the recipe correctly or call it authentic! A tip: dice the ingredients into smaller pieces - you will have better presentation and better absorption of the flavors. Also, let the salad sit in your fridge over night - this will allow flavors to blend better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States