Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great stew! Used tilapia and sherry instead of white wine because that's all I had and it still came out great.I also added one additional chipotle bouillon cube to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
THE WHOLE FAMILY LOVED IT!!! Thank you! Used cod and shrimp rather than clams; veggie bouillon rather than chicken. Added some Cajun seasoning. Let it simmer for an hour before adding seafood. I'll definitely make it again! Although there are a lot of ingredients, it's not hard. :) Oh, so savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Simple and delicious! I used wild alaskan rocksole, scallops and shrimp. I also added okra and corn. I also added 1 C sherry in addition to the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
LOVED it! Followed the recipe exactly as stated and it was a big hit, even with our 9-yr-old! This will be a cold-weather staple in our house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is a ridiculously good soup. The only suggestion I would have is to cut back on the red pepper, it was a tad bit spicy. Like another reviewer, I added a can of corn and it was amazing! Used a pound of tilapia for the fish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was delicious!!! Very easy 2 make, hearty & filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sfincher823

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This was very good! I didn't have shrimp in my freezer so I used clams, scallops and fish and it was still great. Next time will definitely add the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I am making this for this evening ... it is cold and rainy here today ... I will serve it with hot bisquits ... however, I intend to prepare it emphasizing the 'stew-like' quality vs. 'soup-like' quality and serve over white rice ... I have miscellaneous small pieces of fish in the freezer ... so I will use them this way and add shrimp ... my mother made something like this ... we loved it ... I will report in tomorrow as to the outcome!! UPDATE ... Okay, I made it!! And it was utterly fantastic ... of course, I made a few slight alterations ... which is not always the best thing to do to a recipe ... but I did ... used a bit of bell pepper, clams in the can vs. clam juice (wanted stew not soup) ... used red vs. white wine ... wanted a richer stew ... used various fish and shrimp vs. white fish ... otherwise, I followed the recipe to a tee ... we absolutedly loved this stew ... it was wonderful ... served over white rice ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
To all reviewers who were confused how people could have such vastly different opinions on the same taste. Everyone is different. It takes all kinds to make life interesting. We are not all born from the same mother or cut from the same cloth or shaped with the same mold. Viva La Difference. It's just like lamb. You either Hate it or you Love it. Very rarely is there an indifferent. I just happen to know the one man in Washington state who stands in that middle. LOL. Anyway. I am going to go and make my own fish stew recipe right now. I will post it when I am satisfied with it, and I am certain that there will be people who think there is too much of this, not enough of that, and what the heck were you thinking making this waste of food product.... It's all good. XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Simmons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was EXCELLENT! I made a few changes, not many but some. I used 6 cloves of garlic, 1 can of Rotelle tomatoes and 1/2 can of stewed tomatoes, 1 can of College Inn chichen broth and added water to bring it up to 2 1/2 cups,2 pkgs. of Wyler's chicken boullion, 3/4 lbs of shrimp cut into 3 pieces, 3/4 lb talapia, 1 can minced clams, a sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes, sprinkle of dried thyme and Italian seasoning. I also diced up 1 baking potato.I used a pretty good Chardonnay and creme sherry. All the other ingredients remained the same. my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States