Russell's Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
I made this last night- it was fantatstic. I added fresh chopped clams, extra cod and a can of sweet corn. I kept the cilantro to a minimum because I am not a big fan, and the stew still had unbelievable flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I was hugry for something a little mexican tasting, so used the zesty mexican tomatoes and substituted diced bell pepper for carrots. I always use less oil, sprayed w/olive oil pam and about 1 tb oil. left out the crushed red peppers r/t the spicy tomatoes. My husband never moaned so much during a meal! It was very good, a hint of heat. Could add more at the table if you wanted. The broth was phenomenal! Served w/brown rice to add to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
We really loved this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I'm not quite sure what was different between mine and the other reviewers on here, but no one liked this at all. Even before adding the fish, the smell was not appetizing. Too bad, I was really looking forward to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is a delicious soup. I used chicken broth and still added a bouillon cube, which gave a richer flavor. Cut back 1/2 on the red pepper since my husband doesn't like too much "hot" and added 1/2 lb of scallops as well. Didn't have fresh cilantro so used dried in moderation. I used a good quality rather dry white wine as the sherry adds enough sweetness. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was ok, but just kinda boring. The only thing I did differently was to add a shrimp-flavored bouillon cube. Maybe our taste buds were just having an off day but we weren't that impressed. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I've been making this soup for a few winters now and it's really great, wonderful blend of flavors. It bugs me when people review a recipe but make tons of changes; that being said the ONLY thing I changed was instead of adding red pepper flakes, I used Old Bay Seasoning instead. (I live just a few miles from the Chesapeake Bay, so we have to add Old Bay to anything seafood!) I simmered it for more like 2 hours so the flavors really blended. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
My whole family loooooves this recipe. No changes needed. The cilantro is what makes it different and delicious for us, so if you don't like cilantro, I wouldn't recommend this to you. I wouldn't use dried cilantro, either. It just has a completely different flavor. I signed on to Allrecipes just so I could give this a 5-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
excellent recipe!!! Had to substitute a few things because I didn't have them at home. Used chicken stock instead of water, added 7 oz more tomatoes, omitted clam juice and sherry, omitted cilantro. Added 8 oz frozen reg, green and yellow peppers. Used 1lb frozen calamari, shrimp and scallops. turned out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This recipe is delicious just as it is! The whole family loves this so much that I have had to make up quadruple batches to pass out to family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaFoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Grandpa’s Oyster Stew

See how to make one family’s treasured oyster stew recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States