Rush Hour Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Good, and easy to make! Followed advice of other reviewers and drained the beans before mashing, then added bean liquid back into them to get desired consistency. I also used Earth Balance butter in place of bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
What was that bacon grease all about. YUCK! Sounded like a good recipe, but the bacon taste with the cumin? I don't think so. My husband, who is not all that fussy about food, was not at all concerned that he was throwing these beans out! NEXT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gerri McIntosh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
i'M REALLY QUITE THRILLED HOW CLOSE THIS COMES TO BEING HEALTHY! ALERT ALERT ALERT...DON'T USE CANNED BEANS AT ALL! DRIED ARE CHEAPER & HAVE ZERO SODIUM! BUT IF YOU DO DUMP ALL OF THE LIQUID & RINSE THOSE BEANS...USE ANY LIQUID YOU WANT, USE AN OIL OTHER THAN BACON/LARD (SERIOUSLY WE'RE WELL INTO THE 21ST CENTURY)THAT WAS POSTED, I'M LOVIN COCONUT THESE DAYS! PLEASE USE YOUR IMAGINATION/BRAIN...I'M NOT A BULLY I REALLY JUST CARE...BLESSINGS AHEALTHYCOOK4U
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I like it better with sausage grease. Old El Paso sold them flavored with meat for a couple of yrs, but I haven't found them on the shelf since it's become an "unhealthy" choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
For a healthier option, I do this: pour half the beans and about half the liquid into a blender, add about 2 tsp. of olive oil, cumin, garlic and dried onion. Blend until smooth. Add the rest of the beans and blend real quick until mashed a bit but so you still have chunks. Transfer all from blender into microwaveable dish using a spatula, top with jack cheese and heat through until beans are hot and bubbly and cheese is melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I used 1 full can pintos with the juice and 1 can with juice drained. Used hand blender to mash. Sauted some onion, but used garlic powder and extra onion powder along with the cumin. Was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Four kids, hubby & I really enjoyed this. Doubled the recipe and will make this a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I liked this recipe it was my 1st time and it was great. Never will I ever buy canned refried beans! I used canned black beans instead and added fresh tomato, onion, and garlic. Used it for a recipe of Mexican lasagna. Awesome! Also only used half a can of the bean liquid. NOT THE WHOLE CAN..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starlet587

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
These were delicious! I didn't have time to read the reviews, so I dumped the whole can w/ liquid into the pan...they were a little thinner than I would've liked, but I'll know to add the liquid gradually next time. Great flavor...a little salt and it was good to go~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States