Runzas (meat pies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I was raised in Nebraska and worked at Runza for several years, and this is the best Runza recipe I've found next to the real thing. I'd recommend a few slight changes to make it what I consider more tasty and closer to the original Runza. I found the dough in this recipe too sweet, so I replicated it using half the required sugar and found the dough to taste perfect after that. I also increased the amount of filling, partly because I had leftover dough the first time, but also because I like my runzas meaty. I used a little less than 2 lbs of ground beef and used 1 head of shredded cabbage for the filling. I also made a gravy out of the meat fat by adding a few tablespoons of flour to the meat drippings, then adding water or broth like one would do while making gravy, then added just a little bit to the filling (maybe 1/3 cup of the gravy) to help bind the filling together while constructing the sandwiches. A bit more salt and pepper in the filling than the recipe asked for makes the runza filling pop out more. Also, I only used one package of yeast and the recipe turned out great, but that was just out of convenience and not for any technical reasons. Great recipe, and thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This is the best Runza recipe on allrecipes.com for sure. My husband and I are also transplants from Omaha and miss the Runza Hut in a big way! We always liked just the classic Runza - not the more fancy versions. And, this fits the bill! I will mention a few things that I did to replicate the Runza Hut's creation more closely. I beat the eggs slightly before adding them to the flour mixture. I found that 3/4 cup of meat mixture was a better amount for each Runza without leaving too much excess. And, after rolling the Runzas into rectangles (instead of triangles) - I covered them and let them rise again in a warm place for one hour. I thought the texture was better/fluffier this way. Other than that, I left the recipe the same. They were wonderful and my whole family enjoyed the reminiscent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
When i am in a hurry to cook i use crecent rolls,layer on bottom then the filling you have here,and then layer of crescents on top and cook as directed on roll package. Great runza casserole in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Oh my gosh these are dead ringers for Runza's from The Runza Hut in Lincoln, Nebraska. It is the only think I miss from the midwest! I made the dough in my bread machine, I added all the wet ingredients first, then the dry, made the well for the yeast and then but the bread on dough cycle. I rolled them into rectangle's like the Runza Hut used to do. They really REALLY rise, so roll out your dough thin. I would like to make dinner rolls out of the dough, it has a sweet yeasty taste, reminds me of the rolls from The RoadHouse grill. I can't thank you enough for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
We love the Runza restaurants, so this recipe had a lot to live up to. Made the dough in the bread machine like other reviewers suggested and then followed the recipe but added a small amount (maybe less than 1/2 the can-just enough to hold the filling together)of cream of mushroom soup and topped each heap of filling with some Swiss cheese and some sauted mushrooms ....perfection! Swiss and Mushroom Runzas! But if you would prefer to experience the original, then make the recipe as is...the end result - nearly as good as the Runza restaurants in the great state of Nebraska! Update: Last time I made these I added a couple Tbsp of Golden Mushroom Soup...awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I grew up in the Runza heartland of Nebraska. There is nothing better on game day than warm runzas and fries! Since moving away I have tried numerous recipes attempting to duplicate this comfort food. My family has patiently suffered through many variations. I'm going to throw all of the other recipes away! This is the best Runza dough I have ever made. It was easy to make and even easier to roll out and fill. The sugar in the dough added the perfect compliment to the sour of the cabbage. I decreased the cabbage a bit and I added about 1/8c. of shredded velveta cheese to some of them which made them extra moist and delicious! Everyone in my family, especially the kids loved this version of our old favorite. I will definitely be adding it into my menu rotation more frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
GO BIG RED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aermickey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
So I see this is a Big Red reunion! I am also from NE and have been looking for a REAL Runza recipe since we live in Seattle now. I have told my husband about them, but he has never had one. He loved it! This recipe is the best because the dough is wonderful because it's not processed buscuits flattened out. Someone else commented that the sweetness of the dough counters the bitter of the cabbage and it does! This is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Outstanding. This is the first time I've made dough and it turned out beautifully. The filling is delicious and the dough is soft and tasty. Thank you for the recipe. The instructions are simple to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe is almost identical to the one I use. I too am a Nebraskan living elsewhere and miss my Runzas. To save time I use frozen dinner roll dough, rather than making my own. They make smaller runzas, but they are perfectly sized for children's little hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States