Runzas (meat pies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I grew up in the Runza heartland of Nebraska. There is nothing better on game day than warm runzas and fries! Since moving away I have tried numerous recipes attempting to duplicate this comfort food. My family has patiently suffered through many variations. I'm going to throw all of the other recipes away! This is the best Runza dough I have ever made. It was easy to make and even easier to roll out and fill. The sugar in the dough added the perfect compliment to the sour of the cabbage. I decreased the cabbage a bit and I added about 1/8c. of shredded velveta cheese to some of them which made them extra moist and delicious! Everyone in my family, especially the kids loved this version of our old favorite. I will definitely be adding it into my menu rotation more frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Thank you! Thank you! I have tried so many runza recipes and have yet to find the one that reminded me of Grandma's. Until now. The dough was perfect and super easy to work with. I wouldn't change a thing! My family of six devoured them, even the picky little ones! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Oh my gosh these are dead ringers for Runza's from The Runza Hut in Lincoln, Nebraska. It is the only think I miss from the midwest! I made the dough in my bread machine, I added all the wet ingredients first, then the dry, made the well for the yeast and then but the bread on dough cycle. I rolled them into rectangle's like the Runza Hut used to do. They really REALLY rise, so roll out your dough thin. I would like to make dinner rolls out of the dough, it has a sweet yeasty taste, reminds me of the rolls from The RoadHouse grill. I can't thank you enough for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I like to make these for the highschool football team when they have away games they are great and the kids really love them. I substitute dried onion soup mix for the seasons (about 1 env for every 2 lbs of meat) I also put in a cube of American cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7TIMEMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a great recipe! The crust was just a touch sweet, and would go great with any calazone-type filling! I used chunks of buffalo steak instead of ground beef, and the texture as a whole was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shesinparties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Exactly like a Runza! I used whole-wheat flour without a problem. I also rolled them out like rectangles and then folded the meat into it as if it were an enchilada. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I found this exact recipe on the University of Nebraska's website about seven years ago and have never bothered to try another. This truly is a fantastic comfort food, portable too. I brushed the tops with a beaten egg, it makes them very pretty. I double the recipe and after they are baked and cooled I put them in freeze freezer bags. They heat up great in the microwave. It's a good on the go treat. Better than going to a fast food place. I will try putting velveeta in them next time I make them as one reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Terrizzi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
When i am in a hurry to cook i use crecent rolls,layer on bottom then the filling you have here,and then layer of crescents on top and cook as directed on roll package. Great runza casserole in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This recipe was wonderful! So delicious! My husband, a Nebraska native, was afraid to have me make them thinking he would be disappointed, but boy was he wrong! He has even insisted that I make these each Saturday that a Nebraska Football game is on. Guess its our own family tradition now. Thank you for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I gotta be honest...the dough is WAAAAY too yeast-y for my taste. However, I've never been to Nebraska, nor have I heard of a runza before this week, so I'll just take everyone's word for it that they're supposed to be that way. Either way, next time I'll try making these with potato dough, as suggested by others. Regardless of my personal tastes, my boyfriend (who lived in Nebraska for several years growing up) declared these to be "awesome" (thus the 4 stars)! I made half of the recipe exactly as stated, but for the other half, I added 1/2 can cream of celery soup and 1 cup of mozzarealla cheese (suggested by a reviewer in one of the other runza recipes). The half I doctored up was AWESOME!! From now on, I will always include these additions...even my boyfriend preferred them! (I never was able to finish eating a "plain" one because the yeast flavor overpowered everything else. I'll try again when using a different dough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States