Runzas (meat pies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very good. My kids really like the dough. Have never had a Runza before so can't say how it compares, but will definately make this again. I did add seasoning to the meat to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkwilson5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatesville, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This is very popular in my house but I only gave it 4 stars because of the changes I made. I doubled the dough and used 1 1/2 lbs meat, sauteed with garlic and onion. I also added kitchen bouquet, worcestershire sauce, thyme, oregano, hot pepper flakes and hot sauce to the meat mixture and 2 c. of mozz cheese. We just like a lot of spices and flavor and I thought just salt and pepper would be too bland. My husband and youngest son can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bmonkey18

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Great Recipe! I am a beginner at cooking and this recipe (even the dough) was very easy for me to follow. I followed the recipe exactly and made some without cabbage for my picky husband. They were great! Next time I will add cream of mushroom soup to the mixture or mozzarella cheese, as they were a little dry. Thanks for the great recipe, I will be using it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassiejean

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
While I haven't made the recipe yet (I am tonight for supper), I am surprised to know that this is a Nebraskan thing. I always had these as a kid growing up and figured every other kid did too! Once I got to college, I found out that wasn't the case. However, both of my parents are from Nebraska - who would've guessed!!!! Mom always added cream of celery and sometimes sourcrout to the meat. cinnamon/sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was very good. My husband and I both agreed the dough was too sweet. I will definitely try this again, with much less sugar. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This dough is so good. My family won't eat cabbage so I just made the meat and then topped with colby/jack cheese YUMMY. I will be making these again and again and again.... Thanks for a great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlshannon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Excellent. Followed recipe exactly. It could be easier with a pre made dough though but still good. Even better homemade =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
These were AWESOME!! A new family favorite. Even picky "mac and cheese only" 2 year old ate TWO!! Highly recommended. The leftovers were great for a quick snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
easy recipe, followed it exactly...they only needed 15 min in my oven, though. really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Add a half a slice of Velveeta cheese singles - they taste just like cheese Runza's. Use 2lbs hamburger & make sure to chop the cabbage up very well. We love the bread so much! I use it to make rolls all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States