Runzas (meat pies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
These were delicious! The dough made a soft, sweet bread. I substituted vegetable oil for the shortning, and had put the dough ingredients into the bread maker to knead and rise. I want to try different fillings in these, because the dough made a wonderfully unique bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I've never had Runzas before and we had some leftover cabbage so I figured I'd try them. These were so good! The sweetness of the bread with the ground beef mixture was a good combo. The dough was so easy to work with. I did add some garlic when cooking the ground beef but I add garlic to everything! I did some with cheddar cheese, some with mozzarella, and some with no cheese. I didn't try the ones without cheese but I liked the mozzarella best. My husband liked the no cheese best. I served them with spaghetti sauce because some people mentioned here that they were a little dry/lacking flavor. Didn't need the sauce at all! My husband preferred no sauce. Can't wait to have them for lunch again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
We made this recipe for DD's school project. I had a good bit of filling leftover so I topped with some scalloped potatoes and habanero jalapeño cheddar. Does that make it a German Shepards Pie? Loved it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great Runzas! I followed the recipe, but add Worcestershire sauce (to taste) to the meat mixture. And I used three bags of shredded cabbage. I also added shredded cheese to some of the runzas and blue cheese to a few for my husband that loves blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The first time we made these we thought they were very bland despite out attempts to jazz them up with more garlic and onion. The second time we made them we added a packet of onion soup mix and a squirt of Bulls Eye BBQ sauce. They are outstanding. As well, we used 1/2 whole whaeat flour for the dough and it is delicious and very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I used this recipe in my first effort to make runzas. I added garlic powder and onion powder to the meat mixture. They were a big hit with my visiting grown children. This is definitely a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
These are so unique. These have become a family favorite and my kids love them. The dough is so amazing that we have tried different fillings. Ham and Swiss; Pizza sauce, pepperoni, mozz cheese. The best part about this recipe is that they freeze well. Just microwave when ready to serve and they are just as good as the day you made them. Not soggy or dry. We make several batches at once and freeze for future use. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I really like this recipe, i followed exactly. My hubby grew up on Runzas and in Nebraska, said that he liked them really well, but that they needed some extra spices. I did add a tsp of Garlic and some shakes of Crazy salt but it just needs something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I guess I'm the minority here and didn't really care for these but I've never had an official Runza either. I wasn't expecting the outside to be so bread-like. Maybe the next time I go through Nebraska I'll have to stop for one...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe! Pretty much like the resturant Runza. Make sure to roll the dough out fairly thin because it rises to be pretty thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlagos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States