Runzas (meat pies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I grew up in Nebraska eating homemade runzas, and this is the recipe my mom used. If you have leftovers, these freeze really well in individual baggies, and then just heat up in the microwave for about 2 minutes. My family has lived in 4 different states, and I've made these for friends in each of those states, converting them to runza lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
this was a very good recipe. im from ne as well, and my family has made runzas for yrs. my favorite way is to use frozen bread dough, and instead of cabbage, i add a jar of saur kraut. it adds a delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thatsoundsyummy
Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Delicious!! I think they would be even better with some mozzarella cheese inside! I used sauerkraut instead of cabbage, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly, and it worked great! My husband scarfed one down and even went for a second one, even though he said he didn't have room!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChocolateLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
These were really good. The dough was soft and sweet and the filling was very flavorful. I added mushrooms and mozzarella cheese just because I like my runzas that way. Folded mine in rectangles, too, but I may try the triangles next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this according to the recipe, and they came out somewhat bland. The bread dough was just beautiful to work with, however, so smooth and elastic, easy to form the triangles and they raised very nicely. Next time I think I will add a little seasoning salt, pepper, or maybe some Penzey's beef seasoning. Overall, I would definitely make this again, just play around with the filling a bit as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
just perfect! Very similar to the restaurant chain. I will be making these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Tuning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Living in Oregon now, I have missed Runza's so much. These are amazing. I almost cried. I altered the flour a bit to make them more whole grain and it didn't alter the results or taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
If I could give this more stars I would. I've been looking for a pocketsandwich recipe for a long time that was easy to work with, flavorfull & didn't get hard while cooking. This recipe fits the bill. The breading has a slight sweet taste which we love but you could adjust if that is not your thing. Also we made a vegetarian version of this with a lentil bean & potato stew & that came out super. It was tasty, healthy & inexpensive to make. What's not to love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The dough is very sweet. You might think about cutting the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I'm just going to have to add my 2 cents in too. My husband grew up near the original Runza Hut in Lincoln NE and I learned to make Runzas from his mother. This recipe may be even better than what is served in Runza restaurants today. Please do not make any substitutions if you want the real deal. Also, we purists make our Runzas in a rectangle not a triangle shape. For those of us from Nebraska these are near and dear to our hearts and worth the time and effort to make the dough from scratch. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States