Runzas (meat pies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I grew up in NE where Runzas were a staple. I live in DC now so HAD to make them! I thought they needed more (and prob better) pepper. I added velveeta and cheddar. YUM YUM! Anybody able to keep them from popping open? Half of them looked like lotus flowers. Dough was incredible good! :~)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MableC.
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I was first introduced to these by some very 'adventurous' lunch ladies in elementary school (1060's). While they take a while to make, they are SO worth the effort (and they freeze very well - but are best right out of the oven). I've been making them for years and this is the only recipe I've ever used (haven't even tried the 'frozen bread dough' version and, probably, won't - the dough recipe for this is wonderful!). Over the years the only change I've made is to add a slice of American cheese (put it in the center of the rolled out dough and put the filling on top so the cheese melts down into the filling - make sure to secure the edges really well or they might leak). Thanks for posting this recipe - I, highly, recommend trying it - especially for those who are "cabbage weary" - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Well, the man came home with two heads of cabbage and I was lookin to bake bread (I love doing it) so this was the natural reault! This was the first time we ever had runzas and we both liked them very much, although I rolled them very thin and wished I had used a whole head of cabbage.. In the future, I might experiment with the recipe a bit...maybe a dab of swiss cheese? Ooh that would be delightful, I am sure! But the recipe is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I did make half this recipe for two of us, made dough in bread machine, and got 4 nice sized Runzas. I put a slice of Swiss cheese, and some sauteed mushrooms on them for a Swiss Mushroom like I use to get at home in Nebraska. Very good, will make again for a taste of home!! Thanks for making this possible Dolly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Even though I think this recipe need more salt, I would rate these runza's 5 stars. They are the best (made at home) runza's I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyVendetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I love this recipe. I've always made Chiborekee which are very similar except much smaller & fried. I wanted to try out a baked version and this recipe grabbed the win. Hubby & I absolutely loved them. I used 1 large onion instead of 2 small, and used 2 carrots (shredded) instead of cabbage. I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 because we found the meat to be a little bland for us. Next time I plan to use more seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMommy0610

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Nassau, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I love this recipes. My husband grew up in Indiana and this is a family favorite. We add a little cheddar cheese to give it some more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
GO BIG RED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aermickey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I tried to substitute gluten free flour and the dough got too hard. Will surely make recipe again, adjusting to a lesser amount of gluten free flour and might add a tablespoon of oil if needed. Otherwise....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I come from Omaha and have finally started making Runzas for my family and they fight over the last one in the fridge! This recipe is simple, but accurate. I make the following modifications, though, to make them a little more healthy. I add cabbage that has some shredded carrots in it, add a whole shredded zucchini while cooking so my kids get more vegetables. I also add garlic for flavor and just a little bit of shredded cheddar and monterey jack cheese. I use the pizza dough from the deli (Pillsbury?) and roll it out thin, then cut it into little rectangles. The Runzas bake up beautifully (I put my oven at 425 like a pizza), and they are done in about 10 minutes. The size is just right for snacking..smaller than the original Runzas, but just as good! The pizza dough works great, and no need to rise. To save time for later, I make the filling ahead of time and freeze it, so that it's ready whenever we want a treat. Runzas on demand!!!! Woooo Hooooo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States