Runzas (meat pies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Best thing ive ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walled Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I followed this recipe as precisely as possible, and while the filling came out nicely, the dough was too salty and dense. I will be going elsewhere for this recipe from now on. A Disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Wow... My family is from Kansas and Nebraska, and these are as good as (or better than) any Runzas I've ever had. I've had homemade ones and restaurant ones, and these are definitely the real deal! I, too, used a bread machine for the dough, which made it SOOO easy and quick (well, as quick something that takes an hour to rise can be, anyway ;)! It's a keeper! EDIT: Forgot to say that I didn't have cabbage, so I used canned saurkraut (BONUS: it doesn't have to be cooked!), and I added "swiss" (American; pre-sliced) cheese to some of them. Also, mustard is a good match as a dipping sauce/filling seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I lived in Nebraska most of my life and recently moved to Minnesota. My daughters favorite food are Runzas and she was so sad when we moved. I'm so excited to try making these for her. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Yum! I think these were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Just in case you can't tell from the 1/2 cup sugar...this dough is very sweet! When eating we cut the sweetness with some dijon mustard. I did not love the dough in this dish, but for dinner rolls it would be awesome. The dough was some of the loveliest I've ever handled. My journey to find the perfect meat pie continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Fritzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
really good and not too hard to make. followed the recipe except I used my breadmaker to make the dough. will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Did not try the dough, want to the next time I make it. Instead used frozen bread dough. Used 2 loaves & doubled fillings to make 8 large runzas. Cooked for 15 minutes. Filling was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
YUM YUM YUM! The only changes were shortening instead of butter in the dough and a sprinkling of garlic powder to the meat mixture. The only thing I would do differently next time is make each one smaller. Oh I also made mine like dinner rolls instead of in triangles. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My family love this recipe. The dough is so fun to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Tasker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Mona, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States