Runzas (meat pies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
So I see this is a Big Red reunion! I am also from NE and have been looking for a REAL Runza recipe since we live in Seattle now. I have told my husband about them, but he has never had one. He loved it! This recipe is the best because the dough is wonderful because it's not processed buscuits flattened out. Someone else commented that the sweetness of the dough counters the bitter of the cabbage and it does! This is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I absolutely loved these meat pies. I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings which actually made 4 Runzas (because I made them gigantic!). My husband dipped them in pizza sauce - but I thought they were excellent just like they were. They were just as good when I heated them up for lunch the next day. I think I might try filling them with a sausage/egg/cheese mixture sometime for breakfast. The dough is sooooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I have just finished making these runzas. The dough is the easiest, most forgiveable I have ever used. The pies turned out fine. I just added some parsley, marjoram, celery seed, garlic to all of them and to six I added a little dill weed. These pies are absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
I'd never had a runza before but wanted to make something similar to a hot pocket that we could grab on the go for lunch at work. The dough was suprisingly easy to make and the filling was quite good; I added some garlic powder and seasoned salt in addition to extra pepper. Once they were done baking and cooled I wrapped them individually in foil and froze them in baggies. Two minutes in the microwave and they're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
My husband was raised in Nebraska, and grew up on his mom's homemade Runzas. We have recently moved to New Zealand and since he's so far from home, I wanted to make some comfort food for him (and myself!). I've made this recipe twice, each time making a double batch and each time they came out fabulously. My husband says they taste just like he remembers. His mom sometimes sprinkles cheese in a few of the Runzas and gives them little dough belly buttons to tell them apart. The cheese may not be traditional, but it adds nice moisture and flavor to the Runza and it melts in so much, it's not gooey/stringy when you bite into them. I will make this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
Okay, I grew up in Omaha and I've eaten a ton of Runzas and I can say that this recipe is dead on. If you're no longer living in the Omaha or Lincoln area and have a jones for a Runza, this recipe will definitely satisfy it. The dough is incredibly easy to work with (I'm not a big dough-from-scratch person but this stuff is really easy to make and roll out and cut) and the filling is spot on. I added a slice of Velveeta to each one because I always preferred the cheese Runzas. And yes, they reheat perfectly and make a great lunch to take to work or school. We'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I made these as stated, but made the dough in my bread machine. My machine is small and had trouble mixing all the ingredients. (I had to mix it a little by hand and start the cycle over) The cabbage is only good FINELY chopped, so I plan on buying pre-cut cabbage next time. It needs a little more salt in the meat mixture to taste like a "real" Runza. All that said, I loved these, my family loves these, and I will be putting these on our weekly meal rotation. Thanks for this great recipe, they taste so much like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I made these for my husband who's from Lincoln, NE and he thought they were great!! I use to use the Rhodes Brand dough for rolls, but my husband said that this dough was so much better than that frozen dough I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
We enjoyed these VERY much. Being Polish, this reminds me of my beloved perogi. I loved the combination of meat and cabbage. And the dough is great! Some suggestions: use a bag of pre-shredded cabbage (usually labeled for cole slaw, the extra carrots, etc. don't change the taste), the time you save not shredding a big head is worth the extra money; roll the dough REALLY thin as it does puff up A LOT; use your bread machine to prep the dough -- saves a lot of time and you can get the rest of the ingredients ready; roll out the dough in large sections so you can add plenty of meat/cabbage; using sesame oil to cook adds a great flavor. This one got put right into the recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This is the best Runza recipe on allrecipes.com for sure. My husband and I are also transplants from Omaha and miss the Runza Hut in a big way! We always liked just the classic Runza - not the more fancy versions. And, this fits the bill! I will mention a few things that I did to replicate the Runza Hut's creation more closely. I beat the eggs slightly before adding them to the flour mixture. I found that 3/4 cup of meat mixture was a better amount for each Runza without leaving too much excess. And, after rolling the Runzas into rectangles (instead of triangles) - I covered them and let them rise again in a warm place for one hour. I thought the texture was better/fluffier this way. Other than that, I left the recipe the same. They were wonderful and my whole family enjoyed the reminiscent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States