Runzas (meat pies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I remember going to the Original Runza hut with my parents in Nebraska. This is spot on. I have also used the sweet bread recipe included with our Kitchenaid Mixer successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I have made these several times. The first time I made as directed and after that I made alterations based on other reviewers suggestions. I made the dough using my Kitchen Aide. I used the whisk attachment for the first part and then switched to the dough hook. I only used one packet of yeast per another reviewers recommendation. After adding enough flour that the dough was cleaning the sides of the bowl I kneaded it for about 6 minutes to make sure the gluten was fully developed. The dough came put perfect after rising for an hour. For the meat mixture I followed another reviewers advice and used just under 2 lbs of meat and a full head of cabbage. I used 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 ground pork and one large onion instead of 2 small. I added 4 cloves of garlic about 1/2 way through the meat and onion cooking. When the meat was mostly cooked I added about 2 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce. I believe these alterations really gave this dish a boost of flavor. The last alteration I made was following another reviewers suggestion and made a gravy with the meat drippings. This batch was probably the best I've made to date. I definitely won't forget to make the same alterations in the future to make a top notch dish. Thanks so much Dolly for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I'm a Texas transplant from Nebraska, and whenever we visit the Husker state, my family is sure to pick up a box of frozen Runzas to take back home. I thought it would be waaayy too hard to replicate Runzas at home, but this recipe comes really close! I used ground turkey instead of beef, and they still turned out surprisingly close to the real thing. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Hooray for Runza! I too grew up in Nebraska and spent my school years working for Runza.. This recipe is great! I followed the review/recommendation to make a gravy with the beef fat, flour, & stock. And it was very good. I would also suggest 1 1/2 lbs. beef, and a small head of cabbage. And to finish it off.. I was lazy so wrapped the filling in hand-made flour tortillas, placed them in a casserole, drizzled with melted butter, then put in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. And I'll do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I made the dough in my bread machine, by adding wet ingredients first then dry. The kids really liked it. Next time I will use pork sausage instead of beef. I also will try it with pastrami and sauerkraut with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
the only thing I liked about this is the bread - the filling is so bland and not worth all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These are awesome. The key is in rolling them THIN. (A pastry cloth and rolling pin cover REALLY helps with this.) If they are too thick, the bottom doesn't cook, and you'll have too much meat left over. I fold them in rectangles because that seems to hold more meat, waste less dough, and is just easier. Also, I reduce the sugar to 1/3c. Ketchup sets them off nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
My grandma made these(and this recipe is close to hers) and I now make them.I use frozen dinner roll dough which makes them a perfect size and saves a little bit of time.They are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Amazing! Used 3tsp of yeast which was plenty; mixed with kitchen aid mixer first then used dough hook for last; sauteed onions seasoned with salt and pepper, garlic powder and lawry's seasoning salt. added more seasoning to ground beef. added powdered beef gravy mix to beef and onions to thicken. Divided dough and rolled into balls and filled with beef mixture and shredded cheese. Sealed and baked for 15 minutes, turned and baked for another minute. It made 10 large meat pies. These could be filled with so many things. The dough is scrumptious! It deserves its own 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I pretty much followed this recipe but with these changes. For the dough I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 3 1/2 cups enriched all purpose flour. I also added 1 teaspoon thyme leaves and 1/2 teaspoon ground sage. For the filling I omitted 1 onion and the salt and instead added 1 package onion soup mix, 1/2 teaspoon ground mustard and 1/2 teaspoon ground sage. I didn't drain the hamburger fat, but instead left it in the pan to cook the onion. Doing this results in a more moist filling. For assembly I flattened 1 1/2cups of the dough into a circle (not triangle) and added 1/3 cup mozzarella cheese and 3/4 cups of the filling on top of the cheese. I pulled up the "corners" of the dough, pinched them closed and formed balls and placed them pinched side down on the baking sheet. Finally I let the runzas rise in the oven for 1 1/2 hour before baking. I also serve my runzas topped with an extra sharp cheddar cheese sauce. Cut an X on top of the runzas before drizzling on the sauce. This altered recipe yeilds 8 large servings instead of the origional recipe's 12. Mom said these tasted better than her runzas. I smiled, and agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States