Runzas II (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Well, no one in our house can eat MSG, so that made this one questionable! But, it is much like a recipe for something I had in Colorado (diff name, but can't remember it at the moment!). You really don't need the MSG - just cook the cabbage in chicken or beef broth. Use Mrs. Dash for extra zing, and it is a very good sandwich. You can also use refrigerated dough instead of bread dough - just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
just like my aunt used to make. add one can of cream of celery soup to ground beef after draing grease for added flavor I also put mozarella shredded cheese in mine, and sometimes sliced mushrooms. get creative, I sometimes spread pizza sauce first then the meat cooked without the cabbage, add cheese and mushrooms and it is a pizza runza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a great recipie, very similar to my mom's recipie. she did not add MSG, she would add lipton onion soup mix to the ground beef as well as cabbage and onions. A lot more flavorful to those of you who said it was too bland! Next time I make these I think I will try the cheese! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
we call these cabbage burgers...the trick here is to salt and pepper your hamburger mixture well...it will save time if you make the meat mixture the night before and put it in the fridge then you can make your bundles the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyMTeets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrill, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
The recipe I got from a college roommate for this called them Fleischbrooks. I've always loved them. I didn't put in MSG, though. I usually put in some cumin and I like that taste. When they come out of the oven, I like to cut open the top and sprinkle in the cheese and top with some sour cream. One thing, though--The bread dough should probably be brought up to room temperature. I thawed mine in the refrigerator and it was impossible to roll out the dough until had warmed up. I like the idea of spreading butter on the finished product. Maybe some garlic powder or some other seasoning in the melted butter might be tasty too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Sharon Sharon Super Duper; I had this recipe years ago and had lost.A German lady in Kansas gave it to me. The only addition I make is a whisper of allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
We make this even easier by using the prepared cole slaw (shredded cabbage & carrots) bought in the produce section. To cheat even more, we put it on store-bought potato hamburger buns. If I use very lean meat, I add some water and simmer to add moistness. A boullion cube or 2 will add flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BTANDERSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've only used cabbage in cole slaw so when my produce shipment came this week I was looking for a different way to use the cabbage. This recipe is excellent. I used 93/7 hamburger and drained and rinsed. I added water and 2 beef bouillon cubes to the onion and cabbage while it was wilting, at the recommendation of other reviews. I did not add the MSG and instead added plenty of salt and pepper. The flavor was excellent. My only problem was that some of the bottoms of the Bierocks were too thin and broke through. I would make the dough thicker in the center next time and make sure there wasn't too much liquid in my filling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Thank you for sharing this recipe, my husband and boys loved it. I did add a little water and bouillon as another person had suggested. Since I only had extra lean hamburger, I also added a couple tablespoons of butter. They turned out great, but next time I will set out 2 loaves of bread, I had pleanty of filling left. Great recipe and nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These have been a family favorite for years! My mom obtained the recipe from one of our neighbors. I use a head of cabbage and one medium onion. I brown the meat and onions(adding olive oil if the meat is too lean), then add the cabbage and season it all to taste with salt, black pepper, some garlic powder and a little sugar which brings out the flavor of the cabbage. I've tried it with bread dough (both frozen and home made), but by far the easiest way is to use canned biscuits. I buy a 4-pack of 7.5 oz cans of buttermilk biscuits. (It has to be the regular, inexpensive biscuits because the dough on the Grands and flaky varieties won't seal properly). Use two biscuits (put one on top of the other) and roll them out with a rolling pin. I like to put a small piece of velveeta cheese on the dough (small! about the size of a quarter - too large and it will just melt out), then add about a tablespoon of filling. Bring the edges up and pinch together. Be careful not to overfill because it won't seal. Place sealed side down on a greased baking sheet (that way the cheese melts into the filling). If you line your baking sheet with foil it makes clean-up a snap, especially if you are using cheese. These are great hot out of the oven topped with a bit of butter and some yellow mustard. I freeze the leftovers in a single layer in gallon-size freezer bags. They are also delicious warmed over. I will be serving these to company tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

One pot meal with cabbage, meat, tomatoes and seasonings.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States