Runzas II (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
This recipe has been in our family over many generations and we make it every winter usually. We usually do not drain the juice off so they aren't dry. Also, I have had these with steak & cheese or steak, sauteed onions and white american for like a philly steak. They are very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERESAGIRL29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I am Czech and we do this a little differently. Our family uses hambuger and german sausage (if you can't find that we use bratwurst and take off the casing). I use seasoning salt, pepper, minced garlic and celery seed. I also use Velveta cheese as it melts the creamiest. My family absolutely LOVES these. Love the idea of using slaw mix!!! What a time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RckyMntnPrncs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a great recipie, very similar to my mom's recipie. she did not add MSG, she would add lipton onion soup mix to the ground beef as well as cabbage and onions. A lot more flavorful to those of you who said it was too bland! Next time I make these I think I will try the cheese! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I add grated cheddar and american cheese to this too - so that it tastes like cheese Runzas from back in Nebraska. The Kraut Bierocks recipe by Kim Van Pelt has a good sweet bread recipe that I occasionally use too. I use the frozen bread dough when I'm short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've only used cabbage in cole slaw so when my produce shipment came this week I was looking for a different way to use the cabbage. This recipe is excellent. I used 93/7 hamburger and drained and rinsed. I added water and 2 beef bouillon cubes to the onion and cabbage while it was wilting, at the recommendation of other reviews. I did not add the MSG and instead added plenty of salt and pepper. The flavor was excellent. My only problem was that some of the bottoms of the Bierocks were too thin and broke through. I would make the dough thicker in the center next time and make sure there wasn't too much liquid in my filling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This was delicious. We aren't big on beef at my house, so we used ground turkey instead of beef, and mixed shredded cheese into the meat mixture while it was still warm. Everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Lowery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Well, no one in our house can eat MSG, so that made this one questionable! But, it is much like a recipe for something I had in Colorado (diff name, but can't remember it at the moment!). You really don't need the MSG - just cook the cabbage in chicken or beef broth. Use Mrs. Dash for extra zing, and it is a very good sandwich. You can also use refrigerated dough instead of bread dough - just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
The recipe I got from a college roommate for this called them Fleischbrooks. I've always loved them. I didn't put in MSG, though. I usually put in some cumin and I like that taste. When they come out of the oven, I like to cut open the top and sprinkle in the cheese and top with some sour cream. One thing, though--The bread dough should probably be brought up to room temperature. I thawed mine in the refrigerator and it was impossible to roll out the dough until had warmed up. I like the idea of spreading butter on the finished product. Maybe some garlic powder or some other seasoning in the melted butter might be tasty too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Royalton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Sharon Sharon Super Duper; I had this recipe years ago and had lost.A German lady in Kansas gave it to me. The only addition I make is a whisper of allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I had a teacher that made these, but she used sausage. I made the same substitution and they were just like the ones I had as a kid. Great appetizer. Made them for a party and they were gone before anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nowata, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States