Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
This is a great recipe. I've been making them for a long time. A little hint, try using Rhodes, "Texas Sized" frozen roll dough. This makes them the perfect size and alot easier to make. They must be rolled out very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Fabulous! Very easy to make, although I cheated a bit. I used pre-made croissant dough (garlic-butter flavor). Because the ground beef and cabbage are cooked before going into the oven, it only took 10 minutes to toast up the croissant dough before it was done. The end product was excellent. My husband said this is one of the best allrecipes’ recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Good recipe. Our family has been making these for decades. We use homemade potato dough,ground beef ,onion, garlic,rinsed and drained sauerkraut,cabbage,salt,pepper,and worcestershire sauce. Cook all together (except the dough!)drain off liquid,fill dough balls and bake.Serve with catsup, mustard, pickles...whatever you like.Thanks for reminding me about an old family favourite comfort food !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These Bierocks are delicious. We made our own bread using the Country White Bread recipe on this site instead of frozen dough. I also added some Worcestershire sauce, onions, garlic, seasoned pepper, hot paprika and salt. I mixed the cheese in the meat/onion/cabbage mixture after it had cooled and spooned into the dough. Yummy! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Wonderful! Really tastes like Runzas! I did add onion, garlic and a bit of green peppers and seasoning to the meat and cabbage mixture. I also mixed shredded mozzarella and Swiss cheese instead of the plain mozzarella. One reviewer said to brush melted butter over the top after baking; I did that and it made it so much better!! The kids even liked them! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I love to make these. Do as others said and add onion and garlic and plenty of salt and pepper. A slice of swiss cheese is awesome. I also make a mixture of ketchup and a bit of mustard for dipping them in. Also lightly butter after they are done. These reheat in the microwave nicely on a low setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
good, but not as good as my mom's. definately better than the resturants in NE :) do add garlic and onion though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Edward, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made 1/2 recipe, which made 10. I used 20 regular Rhodes dinner rolls (not Texas-size as others suggested) and combined 2 rolls for each one. I added a small chopped onion, garlic, 2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. pepper & 1 tbs. Worcestershire sauce. The next time I made them, I'll probably just mix the cheese in w/the meat mixture. They were very brown in 40 minutes. A little bland, but very good. My family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a really good recipe! I rounded up the beef to 2 lbs, also used more mozzarella cheese,a diced onion, and two cloves of garlic. There were rave reviews from my family and friends for this labor day get together we had tonight and they want this to be a regular recipe in our household. I did take a users advice to use Rhodes Texas Rolls, and once I got tired of rolling one roll at a time I started squishing two together and rolling that to make a larger runza, which were ate up easily. And that made it all a little easier. Oh yeah, season to suit your own taste... I liked Jane's Crazy Salt Mix for this recipe. One last change... I used melted butter on the runza's instead of oil. Thanks for the recipe this was AWESOME!!! PS. For picky cabbage haters, it cooks down alot and you don't really taste it much, it is more of a filler in these great sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Oh, these are yummy. I'm not real good w/dough so I first tried canned french bread. Then I tried using frozen rolls. I had a hard time keeping the mixture inside the dough while baking. I also added the cheese to the mix before stuffing to save a step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States