Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
These were a HUGE hit in our house! I didn't have shredded cheese so I used slices. I put the cheese on the dough then a scant 1/3 cup of the meat filling and folded it up. I did alot of pinching and rolling the dough to make sure it stayed together and it did. Put seam side down on the baking sheet and the cheese will then be on top and will ooze throughout the meat mixture when cooking. I used the Rhodes dough but will make my own in the bread machine next time to add variety...whole wheat, herbs etc. The possibilities here are endless. You can fill with anything. Can't wait to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
We dipped them in BBQ sauce. Wierd, I know, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERNOVADARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Good recipe, but a little bland for my taste. I added minced garlic, paprika and ground mustard the first time. The second time I actually added barbeque sauce to half of the meat and ketchup to the other half and that also turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I love these. I got a little crazy making different fillings for these, but they're great to make in advance and freeze for those days that you know will be to busy and stop and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Lake, Florida, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Never had these before but really did enjoy the recipe. Only 4 stars because I did take the advice of others and added onion, garlic and plenty of salt and pepper to ground beef. Don't think it would have had enough flavor otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I love these, but what I did different was put them in low-fat tortilla's and roll like burrito and back till crispy. Much lighter this way. I also added onion, garlic and Swiss is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These were delicious! I had a hard time though. I bought the Rhodes 3 loaves package and thawed it. When I went to roll it, it shrunk back to normal size. These did make 9 HUGE runzas, but they were awesome. Just make sure to add plenty of filling in the dough and seal very well, otherwise cheese will leak out. I also added some sauerkraut to the mix and a slice of swiss cheese before baking. Also some mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Weiershauser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Sorry, this was too bland for our family and we usually don't eat things on the spicy side. I had even added onion and garlic like others suggested but something was still missing in flavor. The bread pockets turned out great so I will probably just stuff them with some other assortment to make mini calzones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
We are another family who have been making these for years. We add onions, carrots and celery to the beef mixture and I've never put any cheese... we use the Rhoades dough all the time and bread machine dough works well too. We eat them dipped in katsup or mustard. YUMMEE. They always get eaten up in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEBRALOP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is a keeper but I cheated. Instead of bread dough (too much time), I lined the bottom of a casserole dish with a pre-made pie crust, baked for 10 minutes, then filled it with everything & topped it with another pie crust. I also added a bag of shredded hash browns to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States