Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made these exactly as written (without the onion and garlic as others suggested) and thought they were great. I think they would also be very good with the onion and garlic. We will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Family enjoyed. I did something wrong though - I did everything ahead of time except for baking. As a result, the bread dough rose and we ended up with 9 loaves of bread with a little meat in them! Will just bake and then warm next time. Froze leftovers and it all still tastes very good. Kids have enjoyed in their lunch boxes too - just heat in microwave (on defrost setting) wrap in foil and it stays warm enough till lunch time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These were good, but not what I was expecting. They seemed dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Added an onion and garlic. Very close to my mom's version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a really good recipe! I rounded up the beef to 2 lbs, also used more mozzarella cheese,a diced onion, and two cloves of garlic. There were rave reviews from my family and friends for this labor day get together we had tonight and they want this to be a regular recipe in our household. I did take a users advice to use Rhodes Texas Rolls, and once I got tired of rolling one roll at a time I started squishing two together and rolling that to make a larger runza, which were ate up easily. And that made it all a little easier. Oh yeah, season to suit your own taste... I liked Jane's Crazy Salt Mix for this recipe. One last change... I used melted butter on the runza's instead of oil. Thanks for the recipe this was AWESOME!!! PS. For picky cabbage haters, it cooks down alot and you don't really taste it much, it is more of a filler in these great sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Love Runzas! Can't leave Nebraska without stopping at the restaraunt. When I can't get back home for a while, this recipe is the next best thing. My daughters, 5,4 & 2, love having their own little "stuffed rock" to eat (individual servings) My favorite version at the restaraunt is the Swiss Mushroom Runza. At home, I mix up some mushroom & gravy sauce & use swiss in a few runza (my hubby doesn't like mushrooms) Once, I make a weak bbq&cheddar version (didn't add a lot of sauce just enough to flavor meat) Hubby LOVED that one, kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
The only thing I add to these is cheese. I freeze extra filling so I can make more for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
These were delicious. My husband must have said at least 5 times during dinner how good they were. I made these with the 1 lb frozen bread dough (3 of them). I cut each 1 lb dough into 3 sections and I thought it was a nice dough to filling ratio. I did add plenty of salt and pepper. Next time I will try adding garlic. I baked these only about 20-25 minutes and they came out perfect. Thanks for a great recipe! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
These were just OK (IMO). I even added some garlic powder,onion powder and worcerstershire sauce but it still I thought it was lacking something! I think the thickness of the dough took away from the flavor!.. Maybe if these were done in a different type of dough like pastry I'd like them more! Also at 45 minutes mine were very dark and hard like biscuits. On the second batch I baked about 25 min. and the bread part was much better but I still thought they were too bready! I will post a photo of the two together and you can see the first and second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
LOve it without the cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States