Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
This is a great recipe. I've been making them for a long time. A little hint, try using Rhodes, "Texas Sized" frozen roll dough. This makes them the perfect size and alot easier to make. They must be rolled out very thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
My family really liked these. My mom used to make these when we were younger and we eat them up! It's great if you have picky "cabbage" kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAMWIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These Bierocks are delicious. We made our own bread using the Country White Bread recipe on this site instead of frozen dough. I also added some Worcestershire sauce, onions, garlic, seasoned pepper, hot paprika and salt. I mixed the cheese in the meat/onion/cabbage mixture after it had cooled and spooned into the dough. Yummy! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This recipe is soooooo easy! The people I served it to thought I must have been in the kitchen all day! They were delicious, and have become a family regular. Thank You so much for this wonderful recipe! This also puts a spin on our "normal" family dishes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
good, but not as good as my mom's. definately better than the resturants in NE :) do add garlic and onion though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Edward, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
These are awesome and simple. My boyfriend just about died with delight. They are great with some hot german mustard on the side or brwon gravy (the kind from the packet works great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Yum! I knew my husband and I would love these , but was surprised when my 7 & 3 year old kids loved them too. I did make a substitution using ground buffalo instead of ground beef - had to add a little olive oil to prevent it from getting dry. I did add onions and garlic too and brushed with some melted butter when they were done. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
My husband keeps asking for these. They are great the same night or as leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ross

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Wonderful! Really tastes like Runzas! I did add onion, garlic and a bit of green peppers and seasoning to the meat and cabbage mixture. I also mixed shredded mozzarella and Swiss cheese instead of the plain mozzarella. One reviewer said to brush melted butter over the top after baking; I did that and it made it so much better!! The kids even liked them! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
very good...just like grandma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States