Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I have made these several times, and I don't change a thing! I love these its one of my favorites. My Grandmother was so impressed that her "baby girl" could cook so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlynnklein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Persia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
My grandmother has made these for years using the boxed hot roll mix. She has never put cheese on them and instead of ketchup and mustard we always ate them with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Best recipe for Runzas that I have found. I added mushrooms and swiss cheese to half of them. They were so soft and yummy. Very easy to fix also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNISTAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
My family loved this recipe (especially my husband and even my VERY picky 5 year old) and I couldn't believe how easy it was! The only changes I made were added onion, and garlic salt, and used both mozarella and cheddar cheese, next time I think I might at some mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Good, basic recipe for runzas. I used a recipe for sweet bread that was very good with this. Next time I would substitute one of two things. Either sub some or all of the beef for full flavored sausage OR sub the cabbage for sauerkraut. It needed just a little bit more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
We've made these in our family as long as I can remember, but used sauerkraut instead of cabbage. They are much more flavorful, with or without cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Made this a couple times - once as is and the second time I substituted sauerkraut for the cabbage. Liked the tartness of the sauerkraut but would definitely make it as is again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These Bierocks are delicious. We made our own bread using the Country White Bread recipe on this site instead of frozen dough. I also added some Worcestershire sauce, onions, garlic, seasoned pepper, hot paprika and salt. I mixed the cheese in the meat/onion/cabbage mixture after it had cooled and spooned into the dough. Yummy! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Good recipe. Our family has been making these for decades. We use homemade potato dough,ground beef ,onion, garlic,rinsed and drained sauerkraut,cabbage,salt,pepper,and worcestershire sauce. Cook all together (except the dough!)drain off liquid,fill dough balls and bake.Serve with catsup, mustard, pickles...whatever you like.Thanks for reminding me about an old family favourite comfort food !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States