Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I love these, but what I did different was put them in low-fat tortilla's and roll like burrito and back till crispy. Much lighter this way. I also added onion, garlic and Swiss is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These were delicious! I had a hard time though. I bought the Rhodes 3 loaves package and thawed it. When I went to roll it, it shrunk back to normal size. These did make 9 HUGE runzas, but they were awesome. Just make sure to add plenty of filling in the dough and seal very well, otherwise cheese will leak out. I also added some sauerkraut to the mix and a slice of swiss cheese before baking. Also some mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Weiershauser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Sorry, this was too bland for our family and we usually don't eat things on the spicy side. I had even added onion and garlic like others suggested but something was still missing in flavor. The bread pockets turned out great so I will probably just stuff them with some other assortment to make mini calzones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
We are another family who have been making these for years. We add onions, carrots and celery to the beef mixture and I've never put any cheese... we use the Rhoades dough all the time and bread machine dough works well too. We eat them dipped in katsup or mustard. YUMMEE. They always get eaten up in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAEBRALOP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This is a keeper but I cheated. Instead of bread dough (too much time), I lined the bottom of a casserole dish with a pre-made pie crust, baked for 10 minutes, then filled it with everything & topped it with another pie crust. I also added a bag of shredded hash browns to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Oh, these are yummy. I'm not real good w/dough so I first tried canned french bread. Then I tried using frozen rolls. I had a hard time keeping the mixture inside the dough while baking. I also added the cheese to the mix before stuffing to save a step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Fabulous! Very easy to make, although I cheated a bit. I used pre-made croissant dough (garlic-butter flavor). Because the ground beef and cabbage are cooked before going into the oven, it only took 10 minutes to toast up the croissant dough before it was done. The end product was excellent. My husband said this is one of the best allrecipes’ recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Wonderful! I added sauteed onions and mushrooms. I stretched my dough to far, they came out more like calzones, only two to a cookie sheet! But I wanted to use all the filling. Will try to restrain myself next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I have made these several times, and I don't change a thing! I love these its one of my favorites. My Grandmother was so impressed that her "baby girl" could cook so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlynnklein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Persia, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
My grandmother has made these for years using the boxed hot roll mix. She has never put cheese on them and instead of ketchup and mustard we always ate them with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States