Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Loved these and they were very easy to make. We don't have Runzas around here, so this was a nice treat. Easy to customize for different tastes. Next time I will add mushrooms to the filling mix, but you could add anything. Thanks for the recipe! Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
We have added this to our regular menu. I always add more cabbage if I can. But we love having something new and different. Plus it is a great way to incorporate those veggies we do not like!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I thought it was great. I also took the advice of others and added onions and garlic to the meat. The only advice I would give is make sure you get a really good seal on the dough or all of your cheese will bubble out and burn on your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The whole family enjoyed this recipe, but I made a few adjustments. I cut up a couple pieces of bacon and threw it in with the ground beef and cabbage. I also used some seasoning salt and half an onion and some garlic and worcestershire sauce. I used the cheese we had on hand (colby jack) and it turned out great. I used the crecsent rolls instead of bread mix, and it only took about 15 minutes in the oven at 350 degrees.(I also tried the garlic crescent rolls, but I found the filling flavor was drowned out by the garlic of the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Good, Not as good as Grandma's but nothing ever is. My family loved them. I thought they needed more flavor. I added onion lots of salt and garlic and a das of worceshire. I brushed the top with butter when they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
These were a HUGE hit in our house! I didn't have shredded cheese so I used slices. I put the cheese on the dough then a scant 1/3 cup of the meat filling and folded it up. I did alot of pinching and rolling the dough to make sure it stayed together and it did. Put seam side down on the baking sheet and the cheese will then be on top and will ooze throughout the meat mixture when cooking. I used the Rhodes dough but will make my own in the bread machine next time to add variety...whole wheat, herbs etc. The possibilities here are endless. You can fill with anything. Can't wait to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
We dipped them in BBQ sauce. Wierd, I know, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUPERNOVADARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Good recipe, but a little bland for my taste. I added minced garlic, paprika and ground mustard the first time. The second time I actually added barbeque sauce to half of the meat and ketchup to the other half and that also turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I love these. I got a little crazy making different fillings for these, but they're great to make in advance and freeze for those days that you know will be to busy and stop and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Lake, Florida, USA
Living In: Phelan, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Never had these before but really did enjoy the recipe. Only 4 stars because I did take the advice of others and added onion, garlic and plenty of salt and pepper to ground beef. Don't think it would have had enough flavor otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States