Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Love Runzas! Can't leave Nebraska without stopping at the restaraunt. When I can't get back home for a while, this recipe is the next best thing. My daughters, 5,4 & 2, love having their own little "stuffed rock" to eat (individual servings) My favorite version at the restaraunt is the Swiss Mushroom Runza. At home, I mix up some mushroom & gravy sauce & use swiss in a few runza (my hubby doesn't like mushrooms) Once, I make a weak bbq&cheddar version (didn't add a lot of sauce just enough to flavor meat) Hubby LOVED that one, kids too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
The only thing I add to these is cheese. I freeze extra filling so I can make more for another meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
These were delicious. My husband must have said at least 5 times during dinner how good they were. I made these with the 1 lb frozen bread dough (3 of them). I cut each 1 lb dough into 3 sections and I thought it was a nice dough to filling ratio. I did add plenty of salt and pepper. Next time I will try adding garlic. I baked these only about 20-25 minutes and they came out perfect. Thanks for a great recipe! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
These were just OK (IMO). I even added some garlic powder,onion powder and worcerstershire sauce but it still I thought it was lacking something! I think the thickness of the dough took away from the flavor!.. Maybe if these were done in a different type of dough like pastry I'd like them more! Also at 45 minutes mine were very dark and hard like biscuits. On the second batch I baked about 25 min. and the bread part was much better but I still thought they were too bready! I will post a photo of the two together and you can see the first and second batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
LOve it without the cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Reid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Loved these and they were very easy to make. We don't have Runzas around here, so this was a nice treat. Easy to customize for different tastes. Next time I will add mushrooms to the filling mix, but you could add anything. Thanks for the recipe! Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
We have added this to our regular menu. I always add more cabbage if I can. But we love having something new and different. Plus it is a great way to incorporate those veggies we do not like!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I thought it was great. I also took the advice of others and added onions and garlic to the meat. The only advice I would give is make sure you get a really good seal on the dough or all of your cheese will bubble out and burn on your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The whole family enjoyed this recipe, but I made a few adjustments. I cut up a couple pieces of bacon and threw it in with the ground beef and cabbage. I also used some seasoning salt and half an onion and some garlic and worcestershire sauce. I used the cheese we had on hand (colby jack) and it turned out great. I used the crecsent rolls instead of bread mix, and it only took about 15 minutes in the oven at 350 degrees.(I also tried the garlic crescent rolls, but I found the filling flavor was drowned out by the garlic of the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Good, Not as good as Grandma's but nothing ever is. My family loved them. I thought they needed more flavor. I added onion lots of salt and garlic and a das of worceshire. I brushed the top with butter when they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States