Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I seasoned the meat to my taste and used croissant dough because I had it on hand. Also added onions & garlic to the meat. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEDS678

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This reminds me so much of my hometown chain, Runza Hut. I seriously cheated and bought self rise dinner rolls, flatted them out and filled them up. Really yummy and easy. I now have a freezer full for lunches and snacks on hand without the effort. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Good base recipe. Not as good as mom's though. Had never heard of the cheese part but it was good. Definitely add onion and garlic, we always do. We also add caraway seed which goes really well with the cabbage and beef. About 1/2 teaspoon can be more or less depending on taste. Also rub the outside with butter as soon as they come out of the oven... mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I've been making these for a couple of years and am just getting around to doing a review! I make them all and wrap the leftover ones in foil and freeze them. When reheated alowly in the microwave they taste great - such a quick and easy meal or snack!! We always use american cheese instead of mozzarella. We love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
delicious, I never heard of these until Allrecipes. I added a little Ratatouille I had leftover to the mix and enclosed it in crusty pizza dough from a can. When I finished encasing them and had them on the pan I realized I forgot the cheese, so I placed a slice of provolone on the top of each one and baked them that way. OMG I may do it like that next time, very good reheated in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made these exactly as written (without the onion and garlic as others suggested) and thought they were great. I think they would also be very good with the onion and garlic. We will definately be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Family enjoyed. I did something wrong though - I did everything ahead of time except for baking. As a result, the bread dough rose and we ended up with 9 loaves of bread with a little meat in them! Will just bake and then warm next time. Froze leftovers and it all still tastes very good. Kids have enjoyed in their lunch boxes too - just heat in microwave (on defrost setting) wrap in foil and it stays warm enough till lunch time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These were good, but not what I was expecting. They seemed dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Added an onion and garlic. Very close to my mom's version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a really good recipe! I rounded up the beef to 2 lbs, also used more mozzarella cheese,a diced onion, and two cloves of garlic. There were rave reviews from my family and friends for this labor day get together we had tonight and they want this to be a regular recipe in our household. I did take a users advice to use Rhodes Texas Rolls, and once I got tired of rolling one roll at a time I started squishing two together and rolling that to make a larger runza, which were ate up easily. And that made it all a little easier. Oh yeah, season to suit your own taste... I liked Jane's Crazy Salt Mix for this recipe. One last change... I used melted butter on the runza's instead of oil. Thanks for the recipe this was AWESOME!!! PS. For picky cabbage haters, it cooks down alot and you don't really taste it much, it is more of a filler in these great sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese

What's cooking in Westminster? This fiery Southwestern Macaroni and Cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States