Runzas (Bierocks) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I didn't really like these at first...so I made some with american cheese slices and finely chopped onion, and some garlic powder...made all the difference in the world. They are even better the next day- cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
These were alright the first day. A little bland. Not very good reheated because the cabbage breaks down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made 1/2 recipe, which made 10. I used 20 regular Rhodes dinner rolls (not Texas-size as others suggested) and combined 2 rolls for each one. I added a small chopped onion, garlic, 2 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. pepper & 1 tbs. Worcestershire sauce. The next time I made them, I'll probably just mix the cheese in w/the meat mixture. They were very brown in 40 minutes. A little bland, but very good. My family liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good recipe. I used canned cresent rolls instead of bread dough the second time I made it and they were much easier to work with and tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
easy to make but very bland. Next time I will try more cheese, possibly a mixture of different cheeses. Being from the South, I wll add some hot sauce to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
These were the first runzas/bierocks I've ever eaten. They weren't bad, but they also weren't what I expected. They seemed a little on the bland side. I thought the cabbage would give a nice rich flavor to the meat, but it wasn't so. I asked my mom about it and she said she'd always found bierocks a little bland, so I guess mine were as they should be. Anyway, I probably won't bother making them again because I like something a little more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Brings me back to a Nebraska restaurant! I love these things! Will be showing my Iowa fiance how great these are soon! She's never had one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by supergimpman4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Carroll, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
My kids grew up on these - yes, we're from Iowa, too. Used to be able to get them at local fast food restaurants! Would definitely follow the suggestion to use Rhodes Texas-sized dough - and yes, they must be rolled THIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Outstanding base recipe. 4 stars only because I think on its own it may be a bit bland. I used hot italian sausage, 1/2 onion, 1/2 head cabbage, 2 large cooked carrots, colby jack cheese and 1 pack of gravy mix; browned the meat, cabbage, onion, and carrots then added the gravy mix and 1 cup water. I also used the Rhodes frozen rolls; thawed them but did not let them rise. Rolled them out and put 2 spoons of meat mix and pinch of cheese in ach roll. Baked at 350 for about 10 minutes on each side. The in-laws loved these and they are a great way to use up excess pot roast veggies. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Tasty. I bought some dough from a local bagel place and used that. Let it rise for about 2 hours. I don't own a rolling pin so I did my best to roll out the dough with my hands. Also substituted cheddar for the mozzarella as I didn't have any. This would be relatively bland without the cheese. This could definitely use some onion and garlic, perhaps some other seasonings. It is very similar to a meat "pocket" we get from our local European bakery however theirs has no cheese and has more flavour to it. This was definitely worth the effort though and I will make it again with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States